Finding happiness and true happiness Part #1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Happiness and smile are two different things. Finding happiness is tough but smiling is easy. 

Welcome to my post dear steemians, 

Today we will talk about happiness. What is happiness and how do we get happiness? In our daily life we buy things, go for a party, we watch TV etc. everything is nice but you have to be very clear that why are we doing this? Inviting for a party, meeting to new people, make us feel good because we want to spread our friend circle, purchasing new product which is good and natural. But we have to be very particular that what it gives? 

Source:http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/the-fallacy-of-happiness/18346#.WXdWjhWGPIU

For example I meet one of my close friend who has a car but I own a bicycle than for a moment my mind created a thought that “he has a car and I have a bicycle” suddenly my happiness is gone. My happiness is gone not because he has a car, happiness is gone because of the thought that “he has a car and I have a bicycle”. What I feel than is if I own a car than I will be also happy.  

So what I did is tried very hard to purchase a new car and at the same time my friend has purchased another expensive car. Now that the car which I felt that it will give me happiness, now it is now not giving me happiness.  And the cycle goes on that whatever my friend has I also want that. I didn’t realize that by doing this I am losing my happiness everyday and now it becomes a competition for me. Competition to buy anything whatever my friend has.   Buying things is good but the thought that whenever I will buy a thing I will be happy is not a definition of happiness. 

None of the car company has written that if you buy car then you will get happiness. But to sell products they make nice ads showing that if you buy this car you are very happy. And by watching these ads continuously it is printed in our mind that if I buy this I will be happy. Whether we are happy or not but we are making these company happy after the purchase.   There are many chocolates ads which shows “share chocolate for happiness”. People don’t understand chocolate will give only chocolate and taste it will not give happiness. But it is so printed in our mind that we feel like that. Mostly affected are the children’s “I want this! I want that! Now I understand why the kids are so demanding. We have to make them understand that it is important and it gives this and this, it does not give happiness.   

According to Mahatma Gandhi. 

 

I will post the next part tomorrow.

Be happy and keep smiling 

Please don’t forget to follow me and upvote my post if you like it!! 

Sort:  

awesome...........very informative. i like it. keep it up. upvoted you.

@rupaibabu

uvpoted.i am www.doze.io member. pls upvote me +comment.

Very good post

I love your insight here. I myself have been digging into the happiness and consumerism topics. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49