You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Respect comes from listening to, and understanding others.

in #life8 years ago

@lifeisawesome, i think a lot has to do with age. When I was younger i would just talk and not take the time to think carefully of my words. It's the ego and we generally think we are right that buries us.

It takes years to learn to listen and to accept another person's contrary view.

Anymore, I have my views and i generally keep them to myself unless someone invites me into the conversation. It's the blessing of being older and having a high emotional intelligence.

Sort:  

So true. As a youngster it was tough - I had zero emotional intelligence, but I think that had something to do with a lot of conflicting issues I had going on. Once I learned to direct certain things to certain places and filter, life became so much easier - I do think emotional intelligence can be learned though, through careful study of other people.

I did a lot of that when I was younger because I didn't understand. Once I got older though, as you say, I was able to join the dots.

Definitely a lot with the age thing like @runridefly said. When I was young I was a bit loopy . Thankfully maturity works a lot of it out!!

@lifeisawesome, this was another deep post and it gives one a lot to digest when dissecting themselves and how they are perceived by others. When they leave the room they are talkiing shit about how we didn't listen to them.

Have an awesome weekend a I am excited about tomorrow.

Awesome - look out for it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66139.00
ETH 3537.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16