You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Labels, categories , and voiceless generation

in #life6 years ago

I was just talking to one of my students, @xbriakay the other day about something similar. While I was born in 1980, I think that like many of my comrades in the war of the generation gap, I identify as a Gen X-er. I feel that we struggled to attain labels that fit us, as our generation was vying for an identity being carved out of larger sub-cultures. Generationally rebelling against hippies, yuppies and punk rockers, collectively, we worked hard to identify ourselves and to be seen both as PC but unique. The millenials seem to do the opposite, rebelling against the rebellion. I asked Bria the other day to identify a song that she felt spoke about her generation or acted as a voice to her generation and she labeled the Black Parade. It isn't as easy to identify a voice for the generation, but it also isn't hard to find a feel. I think, personally, that the lack of voice is a representation of the kind of late-bloomer attitude this generation has. They were babies by both helicopter parents and an extended childhood. It will take time but I believe they will have much to say. They will figure out the reason for the box and why boundaries are needed... perhaps the long way, but I have faith in them once they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87