Date Night Drawing and My First Steps Towards Awareness Through Art

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A Couple Arts Together...

Well, they probably have a good time.

This sketch was done a year ago, going through my old photos, I was able to bring up a few from the past that we’re done when I was out on date night with Brian.

>

The funny thing is, when we first got together if you would asked I would’ve told you that I can’t draw. The fact is, I’ve always thought that I wasn’t very good at it. When I was younger, my brother was always the artist in the family and it was said that he took after my mother. I remember that she could draw birds and animals like none other. She would sit on the phone and in a half an hour conversation the back of her sketchpad, which was usually just a small yellow legal type notebook, that she used for taking notes while she was on the phone. The borders of it would be filled with Cardinals and sparrows. She is an avid birdwatcher and animals were pretty much part of her waking life. When she started breeding dogs she ended up drawing a lot of them, there would be no pads just filled with Dobermans and cropped ears but they would be almost perfect. She never used anything fancy, and she very rarely use the pencil. It was almost always one of those cheap kind of BIC pens in blue black or red.

They Way To the Heart is Through Art

56D91386-E448-4740-ACB6-0CA8F8AF06E9.jpeg

Well, maybe add some alcohol. All things in moderation.

I have always been fond of these pictures, the clove the green comes from a Heineken light that shines in the window. One sitting right up next to it it gives the screen glow on the patio. I can almost always be found on the patio because well, I kind of smoke like a chimney.

DBAA0BED-F265-454E-AD71-321795A12C36.jpeg

This is actually a gif i’ve been smoking like a chimney, one which was done on accident but I always love the fact. For some reason I can only get it to post in picture format though? If anybody has some ideas on how to make it work properly I would love to share.

Back to the Topic At Hand

The reason why I choose to show these pictures now is it just a girl he look I don’t suck as an artist! In fact, I still don’t think that my art is the best. I simply do it because I like to do it and I have found that because my partner is very much artistic your something to bond with. Besides that, I kind of thrive on attention and a lot of my poetry or short writings that are fiction and that sort of thing can get to be a little TLDR.

Hopefully that’s not the case with this post The reason why I choose to show these pictures now is it just a girl he look I don’t suck as an artist! In fact, I still don’t think that my art is the best. I simply do it because I like to do it and I have found that because my partner is very much artistic your something to bond with. Besides that, I kind of thrive on attention and a lot of my poetry or short writings that are fiction and that sort of thing can get to be a little TLDR.

Hopefully that’s not the case with this post ;)

Arch is often overlooked as a way to communicate with other people. In my last post I talked about the meditation components of art very briefly. For me art has definitely that kind of feel. But what keeps me going is not the fact that it makes Zen as fuck or just to show date night pictures, I really did want you open this dialogue about partying together in an artistic fashion.

Many Uses For Art

Art throughout history has been used as a form of communication. When words fail art can often create a bridge between emotions and logic. Colors can be thought and a deeper meaning. Shapes and strokes on the page that are made can show feeling that sometimes the author doesn’t even know is there. And other times it’s just a batter of mimicking what we see in the world.
FEC114CC-F694-43A3-AA19-34C7B7E716DC.jpeg

Take this picture for example.

This Wraith is one that I saw, so not my own original creativity, and I looked at and I drew it while we were sitting on the patio that evening. Or the course of a few hours I do a few things out and this was the one that I actually looked at at the time and used a reference. I got lost in the shapes and folds of the arms a hand outstretched was easy enough to draw and as I went back-and-forth between the image I was looking at and can get down on the paper with a pencil, I kind of zoned out for about 45 minutes. Eventually, Brian asked me if I wanted to cigarette and another beer. I had realize that almost an hour past and my hands are getting tense and they were getting cold. At the same time it’s one of the best date nights that I can remember.

7B06D022-75F9-4DBD-A5A5-933E012ED680.jpeg

Find Commonality

We found commonality through art, which I guess is to say that I went through the process to find art. I didn’t know how to talk and so I was reaching out to find a way to express. Art allows you to tap into your feelings and gives a way to speak without saying things.

I don’t know how I didn’t realize it before this, but I didn’t. I remember being really embarrassed, unsure of his reaction because he is really good at art. He was supportive though and that’s when I started thinking about things with him and how a certain kind of support can give one the feeling that they can conquer the world.

Breakdowns are Breakthroughs

I learned a lot from this night. It was a turning point for me. I have Been through a relatively rough patch. In that time I have gotten to a place where I am basically had all the things or rather, all of the goals that I have made and I wanted to reach by the time I was 30 I was pretty much there are a decent life. I owned a house and I had two wonderful children... still do ;)

C4C77752-5DDF-411A-AE02-FDD6DEDE1316.jpeg

See, look at those faces, who wouldn’t be proud? I am certainly a.m. and I was and I thought my life on track. I still wrote sometimes and I was an avid reader but I liked creativity. Things of changed since then and I’m no longer married I know longer have my house and my life is quite different. And there is this period of time that I thought things would never level out would never be the same would never be OK. I’ll be enough after dating Brian for year and a half something clicked in my head.

It wasn’t just the art, though I won’t lie it is definitely been helpful to the entire process of getting back on my feet and finding who I am. There was something about being excepted, knowing that somebody got me on a different level and I think at the time he appreciated the effort’s to reach out to him because he knew that I wasn’t an artist. Now and then, I tend to focus on art more in the way that an artist stars and I’ve noticed with my own practices that I tend to encourage new students and those that come to me for coaching to explore the artistic size it wasn’t just the art, though I won’t lie it is definitely been helpful to the entire process of getting back on my feet and finding who I am. There was something about being excepted, knowing that somebody got me on a different level and I think at the time he appreciated the effort’s to reach out to him because he knew that I wasn’t an artist. Now and then, I tend to focus on art more in the way that an artist us and I’ve noticed with my own practices that I tend to encourage new students and those that come to me for coaching to explore the artistic sides.

When we allow ourselves to think outside of the box, and to do something that’s not naturally comfortable we create barriers and overcome these challenges through perseverance and bravery on a social or personal front. This bravery leads people to be important to take more risks and to push the envelope further. Well of course, all good things need to also come in moderation, pushing the boundaries on the way that we see the world is exactly how we change our perception.

Change Your Perception to Change Your World

I’ve always thought it was funny telling people that everything is their choice, because most of us don’t always feel like we have a choice. The victim mentality is inherent to being human because there’s always something out there that’s bigger and better than we are.

I think that because human beings don’t really have natural predators we are in essence, our own worst enemy. We become both the prey and the predator of her own race. For me, art has been away but I can express myself and has given me an outlet to explore on a healthy level my own boundaries. For me, and I don’t mean this in a narcissistic way, but most of my limitations come from myself.

I happen to have but I like to call a, ‘A High Luck Stat”. That is, while I might not always be the most light or the most attractive, thanks generally work out well for me ... all things considered. I even have challenges that most of the motivational speakers will tell you that you definitely need to work on, such as I don’t always have a high self-confidence and I let my emotions run rampant more often than not. Still, I find a way to make it through. That’s what I have in common with just about every human being that’s a life. Whether we are touched by mental illness or emotional distress, the fact that we are still alive and that you’re still here speaks for itself. But you actually live, you have to find a way to live with it, to live with the world, with your choices that you’ve made in the past, and yes even that which has been done to you. That’s what they mean when they say that you can control the responses.

Right now I’m stuck explain concepts and yes I’m putting it on the block chain where anybody can take my ideas and do anything they want with them. There’s a part of me, I won’t lie, I would love to have the opportunity to take my experiences and put them into a verbal form and present them to people. One day I would like to develop my skills to become a speaker or a healer of sorts. There’s no denying that I’ve had life experiences that many people have not had and they have been very difficult to go through, and no I’m not talking about a divorce. Plenty of us have the horses. There’s a lot more to it than that but this is an about my story this is about what gets me through. Ultimately that’s what matters.

That’s what I’m here for. That’s why I do art.

What about you?

Thank You for reading!!!

I know this post was quite long, that many of my posts are. I’m trying to find the right words and for her not to present it in the future. For those of you that stuck with it and read all the way through thank you very much for your time and I would love to hear your feedback.

Love and Light
Rohanna Irene
RumDancer 2017

Sort:  

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations @rumdancer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81