How i became a teacher at the age of 16!

in #life7 years ago

image
Hello steemit friends. Today i wanted to share a personal story with you. And i hope by the end of this story,you will learn one or two things from it.

At the age of 16,i became a teacher. Yes,a teacher that teaches children how to read and write.do you want to know how and why? Then keep reading.

Fortunately for me, i did my primary and high school in a very good school(it was among the top 5 in the city). When i graduated from high school and i was waiting for my admission into the university,i went to my village to stay with my grandmother.

I have to tell you that the standard of living there was very low and people were struggling. There was inadequate clean water or electricity. Unemployment was something that was on a rise here so people where jobless and they didnt have enough money to send their children to school.
image
I was very sad to see people leaving such miserable lives. So many of them had big dreams but they were hopeless. So i decided to help. Afterall,i will be staying for a few months so why not utilize the time?

I started gathering little children that were wandering about in my neighbourhood because their parents couldnt afford to take them to school. I asked them if they will like to learn English and they became very happy and excited about it.

So the first day, i thought only 6 children. I started by teaching them the alphabets. The following day, the became 15! They apparently told their friends and they came along because i told them that it was free for everyone to join. We continued like that and they learnt the alphabets and some common words.they also started to learn how to write.they were among the precious people in my life. Thier parents started coming to me and were thanking me for teaching their children english. Some even offered a small token but i told them i was doing it because i wanted to help them.
image
I was very sad when i had to leave. This children were very smart and quick learners. If they would be blessed with high quality education,they will surely be great people in the future. Now that i am away,who will teach them?? I keep thinking about them every single day. i wish i could go back to them. So i have made up my mind that one day, i will open a great school for my community that will provide world class education to these children at a very low tuition fee.

I just want to use this oppurtunity to say that if you could help your community in any way,please do it. They are people out there in need of your help and you never know how you can change the person's life for good. Kindness will always win. Lets learn to please be nice to others and lets not look down at people below us. Lets not forget that if we help others,God will always help us back when we need him. Stay humble and kind.

Untill next time,what great thing did you do at the age of 16? Let me know in the comment section and dont forget to resteem this to inspire as many people as you can.

Sort:  

I respect this, i was still finding myself at 16, glad to know youre doing this. Cheers

Thank you.. i never thought i would be able to do such thing. It was an amazing experience

Thank you for sharing your story. Very inspiring. I hope you can achieve your goal of setting up a school in your community.

Thank you. I am glad i inspired you. Yeah,i pray God sees me through.

I hope you will succeed!

Welcome to Steemit! Awesome pictures! I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Oh hey...i dont really know anything about them but i will be morethan happy if you can guide me.. You can chat with me on twitter @rumiesblog.. Thanks

Welcome..... to the new world. Cheers.

Thank you..i cant wait to explore around and make new friends

rumaisah hi! welcome to steemit ! : )

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thank you! rumaisah great to get your interpretation on my last art post called "Attachment" your insight would help us : )

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

It gives joy to the heart to impact knowledge. Keep up the wok

Greetings from another teacher :) I loved your story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45