How to be Prepared for What Life Throws at You | Comming Back from Adversity

in #life7 years ago

My Brother In-Law Lost His Job | What Lessons Can We learn?

Yesterday morning shortly after getting into my office, my girlfriend texted me and told me that my brother in law had lost his job.

I really felt for him, it's incredibly scary as well as very defeating losing a job, especially a job you've had for a long time. My brother in law had been at this job for 16 or 18 years, pretty much his entire adult working life.

This got me thinking. I wanted to make a video talking about how to be prepared for what life throws at you, as well as how to come back from adversity.

I think there's a couple key things that will both have you prepared as well as help you come back from being kicked while your down.

These things which we'll discuss in this video are...

  1. Having a positive attitude and mental toughness.

  2. Being prepared financially, having an emergency fund.

  3. Continuing to educate yourself, improve yourself, grow, and continue developing skills that make you valuable and in demand.

  4. Making yourself as valuable as possible so your workplace will fall apart without you.

  5. And lastly, having a side hustle. A side hustle will not only help you build up emergency funds and reserves, but god forbid you do lose your job a side hustle will have at least some money comming in and you have something to pour your effort into. Getting laid off could even wind up being a blessing in disguise and a new start as opposed to a tragedy.

Have you come back from a challenge or dealt with adversity? Drop a comment below and tell us about it.

Sort:  

It can really suck for sure. I lost my job at the University of Arizona 6 months after I moved to Arizona. Luckily I was trading stocks and options and was welling my own products all over the world. Otherwise I would have been toast.

Multiple income streams is the answer to having a secure life.

If you loose your job you should have had at least 2 other sources of income. One income is not enough guys, dont understand how you can survive with only one check coming in.

Steem, Youtube, crypto, dropshipping, affiliate marketing, amazon merch are some of the best alternative income sources after a job.

Hey @rafael10 I totally agree with you. In this day and age it's a necessity to have multiple streams of income not only outside of hte job but also to diversify amongst online stuff.

I'm big into affiliate marketing but as I'm sure we've all experienced as the companies were affiliates grow and they need us less they make the program crappier ie...

  • ali express going from 30 day cookie to 24 hour to session based

  • binance started off 50% and quickly dropped it to 20%

  • netflix affiliate program went away but all for top tier affiliates

  • amazon cut commissions

  • alibaba affiliate program went away.

Great article & video! It's never a fun position to be in, but the way you handle it can make a huge difference in where you end up next.

My suggestion would to always figure out a routine early on. WIthin a few days of being laid off. Make sure you have a system to follow to delegate time and energy, otherwise your lack of direction can leave you feeling lost and depressed. This can include time for exercise, reading/education, job hunting, side hustles, family time, or even time for fun! Set small goals too!

@digitaldruid all great tips. I think without doing these things it's easy to kind of wallow and become directionless.

Having a Steem account is the best preparation against losing a day job.

I agree at anything in life it is good to have options and not have all your eggs in one basket. Loading your job is never fun. But forces you to look for other opportunities which might be even better

Intersting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68