Water Fasting - My First Water Fast ExperiencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I have been reading and watching a lot lately about the benefits of fasting. A lot of people say it allows your body to heal itself.

When I look back at my life I realise I have been so lucky and I have never actually gone more than 12 hours without food. I have been feeling lately that sometimes I am just eating for the sake of eating, because it is is breakfast time or lunch time. So I took to listening to my body more.

I looked at some videos on YouTube about water fasting and juice fasting, and the differences between them. I opted to go for a water only fast.

177516766.jpg

So my last meal was at 6pm on Friday and I went to sleep that night as usual, woke up in the morning and drank a lot of water. The first time my stomach started growling was around lunch time, so I just drank more water, and the growling passed. I felt fine, had lots of energy and went out for quite a long walk.

The next time I felt the growling in my stomach was when I would have usually eaten around 5pm, again I just drank a lot more water and I felt fine. I didn't really plan on how long I was going to do this fast for, I was just going to listen to my body.

I took a nice hot bath with Epsom salts, I don't usually like a bath but it helps to sweat out some toxins in your body. That evening I started feeling a bit fatigued, I felt I could not sleep the night on an empty stomach, so I just had some fruit, an apple and banana. So I made it to 26 hours and I was ok with that since it was my first time.

I slept fine and woke this morning feeling nice and fresh, and drank some more water. Today I will just have some light meals of fruit and salad. Hopefully I am training my body, telling it, it is ok to go without food.

The next time I try a fast I would like to do 3 days. It was no where near as hard as I thought it might be, and I hope to allow my body to go into a healing phase.

If anyone has any experience with fasting, I would love to hear your opinions.

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

HOW LONG CAN SOMEONE LIVE ON WATER ALONE?
Dr Alan D. Lieberson explains in the Scientific American the length of survival without food is influenced by factors such as body weight, other health considerations and, most importantly, the presence or absence of dehydration.
Unlike total starvation, near-total starvation with continued hydration has occurred frequently, both in history - during famines, for example - and in patients under medical supervision.
A Q&A section on New York's Colombia University website explains that after one day without food, the body will have used up its carbohydrates. After that, it's on to the fat reserves.
The average person apparently has enough fat reserves to live for four to six weeks without food. From there the body begins to use its protein reserves - basically, the body itself - which causes irreparable damage to vital organs including the brain.
It states that on average people can last for about eight weeks on water alone, give or take about a week for an over or underweight person, respectively.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/how-long-can-a-person-sur/
http://goaskalice.columbia.edu/answered-questions/one-cannot-live-water-alone

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2343853/Woman-living-water-diet-stops-day-47-realizing-encouraging-starve-death.html#ixzz4pIlB591h
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Thank you for your reply, did you know there was a man that fasted for 382 days!!

http://cristivlad.com/total-starvation-382-days-without-food-study/

I won't last 2 days, lol! Recently I was sick and only drank water and juice for about a week because I could not keep food down. I did lose 2 kg. But idk if I would do that voluntarily, haha

Well everybody is different, you may have a slim body that works great, I however am obese and have a lot to lose and I believe this is the right way to do it :)

I am not really obese, but am (in my old age) about 15 kg above my "fighting weight".

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rufaz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @rufaz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74