Day that changed my life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It was that time of year again. The biggest festivals of Nepal Dashain and Tihar were here and people were busy shopping and travelling. Kids were enjoying their vacation. The weather was wonderful. The valley was less crowded and quiet. I,however was feeling restless and bored out of my mind. So, i decided to go for a ride on my motorcycle (Royal Enfield ). I love riding my bike and the timing couldn't be more perfect as the roads weren't as busy due to holidays. Off i went for exciting ride. Unfortunately, the excitement was short lived as i got flat tire.
I went to nearest auto shop to get my tire fixed. As i was waiting for someone to take a look at it, I saw a kid walking towards me. He greeted me and before I could say anything he started to loosen the knots and bolts of my bike.

IMG_20171003_150328.jpg

After a few minutes, he turned towards me and said, "Your bike's ready. Please pay upfront and have a nice day." I was speechless and stunned at what had happened and just kept staring at him as he left to help another customer. I paid at the register and went on my way. It was a fun but tiring day.
At night as I laid in my bed, i found myself thinking about the kid that had repaired my bike. I still couldn't believe that at such a young age he was working and supporting his family. I had so many unanswered questions like, "Does he go to school, isn't it child labor, when does he play, what dose his family do?" The questions kept hovering in my mind and i knew why.
As much as i didn't want to accept it, the truth was he had given me a life lesson. He made me realize ho i was wasting my time. While i was sitting bored at home and complaining about things, he was working hard to make a living. He had helped me see how blessed I was to have a comfortable life and yet i had taken it for granted. he made me question myself and how i was living my life unknowingly inspired me to change.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rubinadhikari! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38