I Am Devastated... 惨めな

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I woke up this morning to news that the house I had been working was destroyed in a fire last night. While it didn’t burn down completely the first floor and garage were gutted, along with all of my tools. So we rushed out to meet the general contractor running the job. He told us the house will have to be torn down.

私は今日の朝、私が働いていた家が昨夜火事で破壊されたというニュースに目を覚ましました。 それが完全に燃え尽きることはなかったが、私の道具のすべてと共に、1階とガレージが激突した。 だから我々は仕事をしているゼネラルコントラクターに会いに出かけた。 彼は私たちに家を解体しなければならないと言いました。

The silver lining is no one was living there and none of the adjacent homes were damaged.

良いニュースは誰もそこに住んでいなかったことで、隣接する家屋のどれもが壊れていないということです。

The bad news is the $4500 we were owed, all of my tools and additional work yet to be done there are gone. I’m devastated. I fly back home to Japan Tuesday pretty much empty handed.

悪い知らせは、私たちが負っていた$ 4500であり、私の道具や、まだ行われていない追加の仕事は全て消えてしまっています。 私は悲惨です。 私は火曜日に帰国しました。

So What Happened? - 何が起こった?

Some time last night a fire broke out at the house. The fire inspector thinks it was from a short in a fan or a light in the laundry room. The laundry room is adjacent to the garage and is the entry into the house from the garage. The picture below shows the red tags they placed on the conduit that powered either the fan or the lights. I don't recall the lights or the fan as we didn't work in the laundry room and just passed through it going in and out of the house.

昨夜、家で火事が発生しました。 消防士は、それがファンや洗濯室の光が不足していると考えています。 洗濯室はガレージに隣接しており、ガレージから家に入る。 下の図は、ファンまたはライトに電力を供給するコンジットに置かれた赤いタグを示しています。 私は洗濯室で働かなかったので、ライトやファンを思い出していないし、ちょうど家の中と外を行くそれを通過しました。

From here they concluded the fire spread into the garage and into the hallway in the house that led to the kitchen and living room. I think the reason the garage took most of the damage is because there were boxes containing appliances, garage cabinets and our wood materials that gave the fire fuel. Our large tools, like the table saw, chop saw, skill saw, etc. were also in the garage. The fire was so intense it melted the aluminum frame of our chop saw!

ここから彼らはガレージ内に広がり、家の廊下に広がり、キッチンとリビングルームにつながったと結論づけました。 私はガレージがダメージの大部分を取ったのは、家電製品、ガレージキャビネット、および消防車用の木材が入った箱があったからです。 テーブルソー、チョップソー、スキルソーなどの私たちの大きなツールもガレージにありました。 火はとても強かったので、チョップソーのアルミフレームが溶けました!

Our chop saw with the side melted away. You can see what it looked like on the right side.

私たちのチョップは側面が溶けて見えました。 右側にどのように見えるかを見ることができます。

Our table saw is completely gone.

私たちのテーブルソーは完全になくなっています。

As the fire moved into the house the hot smoke and gasses destroyed anything over 4 feet tall. Below is the living room which is to the right of the laundry room when you enter the house.

火が家の中に移動すると、熱い煙とガスが4フィート以上の高さを破壊します。 以下は、あなたが家に入るときに洗濯室の右側にあるリビングルームです。

This is the kitchen we were building which is to the left of the laundry room and adjacent to the living room. The second photo was taken about 2 days before the fire. We were just about finished.

これは、洗濯室の左側にあり、リビングルームに隣接している、私たちが建設していた台所です。 2枚目の写真は、火事の約2日前に撮影されたものです。 私たちはちょうど終わりました。

Conclusion - 結論

Electricity and fire are incredible things, but so are our firefighters. The fire destroyed anything exposed, but thanks to building codes the drywall kept it from spreading to the second floor. We could see the floor joists which hold up the second floor had very little damage, if any.

電気と火は信じられないほどのものですが、私たちの消防士もそうです。 火事は暴露されたものはすべて破壊されましたが、建造物のおかげで乾式壁は2階に広がっていませんでした。 私たちは、2階を支える床の梁が、もしあれば、ほとんど損傷していないことが分かりました。

When the firefighters came in they of course blasted everything with water, then they had to start dismantling things and tearing the drywall off to make sure the fire had not continued, hidden behind the walls or in the ceiling. Seeing the destruction caused by fire, what hot smoke did to the kitchen and knowing those firefighters go into that really make you appreciate those guys. They put their lives on the line everyday for us.

消防士たちが入ってきたら、もちろん水ですべてを吹き飛ばした。そして、物事を解体し、壁や天井に隠された火が消えていないことを確かめるために、乾式壁を引き裂かなければならなかった。 火災による破壊を見て、どのような煙がキッチンに行ったのか、そして消防士がそれを知っていることが本当にそれらの人に感謝する。 彼らは私たちのために日常生活をしています。

When you get hit with these catastrophes you have to keep looking ahead and moving forward. Sulking will get you get you into a deeper hole. As my wife once told me, if you’re not going to die then everything else can be fixed. It's not easy, but you have to keep trying. It's going to be a very hard year for me, but I have to stay positive for my wife and kids.

これらの大惨事に襲われたら、先を見据えて前進しなければなりません。 スリングは深い穴にあなたを連れて行くでしょう。 私の妻がかつて私に言ったように、あなたが死ぬつもりでなければ、他のすべては修正することができます。 それは簡単ではありませんが、あなたは試し続けなければなりません。 それは私にとって非常に困難な一年になるだろう。 私は妻と子供のために肯定的な態度をとることができます。

I'll close with some additional photos from the back of the house and what's left of my other tools.

私は家の後ろからいくつかの追加の写真と私の他のツールの残っているもので閉じるでしょう。

Looking at the living room. Kitchen is on the right.

リビングルームを見る。 キッチンは右側にあります。

Looking through the kitchen to the laundry room & garage

洗濯室とガレージにキッチンを見て

Some of my tools are safe.

私のツールのいくつかは安全です。

From the garage looking into the laundry room towards the kitchen.

ガレージから洗濯室を見てキッチンに向かって。

I'm not a religious person, but I'll gladly take some prayers. Thanks.

私は宗教者ではありませんが、喜んで祈りを捧げます。 ありがとう。

Sort:  

I was surprised to see the picture. But everyone was okay and relieved.

恐れ入ります!🙇‍♂️

So sorry for your loss.

I hope something good can come out of this unfortunate incident.

Thank you Dean. I had actually written that in the draft, but took it out. Perhaps I was looking for someone else to reassure me.

So very sorry for the fire. I too, not too long ago went through a very similar ordeal. The house I was living in was completely destroyed by a fire so I understand completely. At the time, I could not imagine how it would all work out because everything was lost. We did have insurance but we didn't have a complete listing of all our property. Over time however, we made our way and it all turned out OK. Now I can look back and see it was a cleansing of sorts. I wish you the best of luck.

Thank you @liquidtravel. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Insurance companies are a pain in the ass. I'm hoping I will be able to recoup something, but each day that seems less likely.

@rt395さん、最近voteしてくださっていた方で、また、DnBと書いてあったので、おぉ…と思ってなんとなくお名前を覚えておりました。このようなことしか出来ませんが…陰ながら応援しております。

@kafkatanaka さんどうもありがとうございます。DnBしている?

Wow. sorry to hear about this my friend and also glad to hear that no one was hurt. Yes this is definitely a reminder that these things an happen any time. It looks like you guys do really quality work and the home would have been beautiful when you were done. Sometimes we work very hard and have one something but do not get the outcome we seek. But often there is another outcome that we did not consider that ends up being greater. Stay focused and stay strong and pull the positive from this situation and everything will be fine. God bless you and your family.

Thank you @thaicryptokitty. I will stay strong.

I'm really sorry to hear this!

I know you've been out there for a while so must have worked very hard on the house. And to have to leave so soon after this has happened must be absolutely heart breaking.

Chin up and march on!

@livinguktaiwan thank you. Indeed, chin up, march on!

ah such a travesty that this happened, I hope some positivity is right around the corner for you @rt395

I am sorry to hear that @rt395

@skyleap さんいつもありがとうございます.

sorry for your loss

@exhige さんどうもありがとうございます。

A great loss for you too, with all the equipments gone and due payments.
Sorry to hear about this.

@jrvacation thank you very much. When life throws us a curve ball we have to try harder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85