You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bursting Elon's Bubble - The Singularity, and the Idea that Consciousness can be Transferred to a Machine, or Host Avatar.

in #life7 years ago

This reminds me of the the Black Mirror episode 'USS Calister'. Pretty horryfying actually being copied into software ;)

That being said, since consciousness is always intentional, the whole world should be 'transfered' as well. I don't see that happening in the near future :/

Sort:  

[Black Mirror episode spoiler alert!] @roydestory - thanks for your comment! You know I saw that episode, and it drove me nuts. I mean it was really well done but I had to suspend a whole lot of disbelief. Mainly, because the notion that memories can somehow be reconstructed from a DNA sample is absolutely ridiculous. It was a great episode, I just wish they would have used a different gimmick to explain how they captured the consciousness of the crew. It literally bothered me for a good 15 minutes of the episode. Then I was finally able to let it go and enjoy the show.

My favorite of all of their episodes is San Junipero.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69