This week my day job was more exciting than crypto.

in #life7 years ago

20180321_065151.jpg

6:30 A.M. I stepped out of my pickup when I got to our shop and this sunrise greeted me.

My first task was to strip the overburden( loose rock, sand and dirt) from the next area we are going to have blasted.
When I took this video I thought if I held my phone(camera) sideways it would shoot a bigger picture. I was wrong, but lesson learned.

overburden

The overburden is removed, the rock blasted, then a Cat 988 loader,

20180319_065535.jpg

feeds the material into the "jaw".

After initial crushing, the rock is distributed by conveyor belts where it is crushed again into specific sizes, sorted and dumped into piles, or directly into the "haul Truck"

20180323_173128 (1).jpg

To put the size of this equipment in perspective,I took a selfie standing next to the tire of this haul truck. My phone cover takes some abuse in these conditions so the picture is a little blurred.

20180323_173112.jpg

One product we make is "washed" rock. Water is sprayed over the material to wash off dirt and dust. This requires huge amounts of water which we recycle in silt ponds.

20180320_161756.jpg

The silt builds up in these ponds till the sludge is over 8 feet deep.

20180320_161752.jpg

20180320_161748.jpg

2 or 3 times a year we have to clean out these ponds. My second task of the week. I used the side dump for this because it is water tight.

211sd.jpg

Quite messy, especially when I unload. The silt is so runny it flowed downhill away from the trailer. I dumped 23 loads in the exact same spot.

Before I finished the first pond, I was directed to help set up a new "jaw" capable of crushing rock up to nearly 4 feet in size. 50% bigger than the one currently in use. I needed to build a retaining wall so the loader can get close enough to feed the jaw.

20180322_114914.jpg

20180323_172755.jpg

2 years ago we produced about 170,000 tons of rock products. Last year that was up to around 250,000 tons. Our goal for this year is 400,000 tons. Our fleet of close to 30 trucks delivers these materials, along with other hauling jobs we do for various customers.

Until the price of Steem hits the moon, I'll keep my day job. So for now...

Thats_all_folks.svg.png

By Warner Bros. [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
All other photos and video original work by @roundhere

Sort:  

Congratulations @roundhere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wait, you have a day job outside of steemit? What is that all about??! ;)

Very cool worksite. At least you get to spend your days outside and not cooped up in an office like me. Those are some big wheels! Crazy, I would probably be half that size if I took a selfie of myself there.

I have to hodl, so I have to work...lol
I would kill myself if I had to work inside. ummm, maybe not. I like inside work in the winter...-:)
Here's something most people don't knew, the bigger the machinery the easier it is to run. For the most part.

Has it really been 12 days since you replied to me? Sheshh, days fly by on here. I will stay away from those big machinery, scary looking things.

Spring is here so you will be enjoying some nice weather outside. Lucky you!

I have a kid that was always equipment crazy....he'd love your job! He's an aircraft mechanic and pilot now but trucks and earth moving always fascinated​ him! CARRY ON!

lol, most people who do what I do would rather be an aircraft mechanic and a pilot!
And I will carry on, at least until SBD's skyrocket to the moon!
Thanks for checking it out!

That does look pretty interesting. They say you've got to love what you do.

That's definitely a big truck.... and a really cool sunrise.

You know how it feels when a table you have served walks out happy, and leaves you a decent tip? I get a payout similar to that with much of what I do. We both work in service industries. Building the infrastructure of the company I work for gives me something physical to see. I helped build that.
Also, I have to say how much your looking at this means to me. Easily as much as any money I get for posting it.

That must be a pretty cool feeling. When a guest leaves happy, I'm happy too.... but I think it's on a different level than what you've got here.

I value your friendship brother. Your comments are always bright spots to me.

Working in the pit, we don't get customer feed back. It's kind of like working in the kitchen. I spend a lot of time delivering to customers also, and that is where I get that satisfaction like you get. Sometimes, I even get a tip!

That is some legit earth moving stuff. They don't entrust those big toys to just anyone. Kudos and thanks for sharing.

I appreciate you stopping by.
There's nothing better than having a day go well and we get to accomplish MASSIVE amounts of work. lol. Then we just want bigger toys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.55
ETH 2610.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67