A Day In The Life

in #life6 years ago


Most days I drive truck, some days I operate. I jumped out of the Cat320 excavator I ran for 10 hrs. today and used my phone to shoot this video. I'm not sure why my phone won't auto rotate, next time I'll get it right(side up)...-:)
What I'm doing here is stripping all the sand and gravel off the bedrock.Next step will be to blast the bedrock into rock small enough to run through our crusher. We make gravel for roads , driveways etc. The top of the cliff I'm standing on is about 60' above the pit floor where you see the loader operating. That loader is a Cat 988G and weighs just over 100,000 lbs. It can load a full size dump truck with one scoop.
We have been mining this pit for 6 yrs. The final depth for this pit, after another 5-7 yrs., will be just over 120' deep.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations @roundhere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Ah, a video! I'm going to have to get into this video racket! Well done!

Video is easy. I just shoot it with my phone(don't know why it wouldn't auto rotate), email it to my computer and upload from dtube. works on steemit also, but I use dtube for the possibility of an upvote.

Hmmmmm.....I've embedded some of my YouTube videos in other pieces I've done. I'm going to keep this in mind. Thanks !

Looks like you can get yourself into some pretty precarious predicaments if you're not careful. Cool video. Any idea how many tons of gravel you've hauled out of there already?

Situations like that used to make me nervous. Now I have a VERY healthy respect for what can go wrong.
Not sure how many tons. I will find out tomorrow and let you know.
Thanks for stopping by!

Last year we produced and exported 250,000 tons of material. 170,000 tons the year before. All told around 750,000 tons have been produced from this pit.
This year our goal is 400,000 tons. We have around 25 trucks that deliver to our customers and we do a lot of work besides exporting from this pit.

That's an awesome amount of rock. That's also quite a jump in production, about double from the last increase. Must be a lot of construction going on to be moving all of that. Amazing.

Not to start a political debate, but Some of Pres. Trump's policies have been good for construction.

No worries and no debate as far as I'm concerned. I'm wary of Trump, just like I'm wary of all of them. However, I agree, there seems to be some good coming out of his presidency, and if you guys have been seeing it, I'd call that a good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88