You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ever heard the expression "Roaches of the Sea"?

in #life8 years ago

100% correct. Lobsters as well as crayfish are arthropods. The same line as cockroaches. They are scavengers that eat the garbage that falls to the ocean floor. They also will readily become predatorial if food supplies are low. A friend of mine once caught a crayfish and put it his fish tank with his goldfish. Within a day the fish started disappearing. He stayed up one night and watched his aquarium. He found that when the fish were dormant, the crayfish would attack and pull the victim under the rock in the tank. It would eat everything. Nothing was left. I do enjoy a good lobster tail occasionally and I try not to think about what I'm eating. :-)

Sort:  

wow, that is interesting. We had a crab that used to do that when added to our salt water fish tank. We had to separate him :)

Yea I saw a picture of a roach and a lobster side by side... I hope I can forget that some time soon before I go to Red Lobster again ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64