You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Not My Job – I Am Me

in #life8 years ago

For thirty nine years I was an appliance repair tech. Every company I worked for was more concerned about how much money I was generating for them, regardless how long or what time it was. I remember one time being on a roof top at 1:00am, to fix a walk in freezer, in sub freezing temperatures. I didn't want to be there, but it was a "do it or your fired" attitude. I retired from that line of work last March. I have my own business selling rocks and fossils. You can't imagine the relief from stress I am now experiencing.

Sort:  

Congratulations! From working in shit to doing stuff for yourself. I have been there myself, I know the feeling. I am in a golden handcuffs scenario for two more years. Maybe I am a coward, but I have come so far and won't give it up. My job creates stress just to create stress for the employees, I think. So I made my life happy instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63