Bad computer

in #life7 years ago

My computer Strangely went down a week ago. I Plugged in my USB cord to connect my phone to the pc when it suddenly went into restart mode. After a few seconds it showed "automatic repair" then "diagnosing pc" but never restarted saying there was an error. After manually trying to reboot it, and several options nothing seemed to work. So I took it to the shop. They have had it for a week now. Dan, the program repair tech, said that my windows 10 had crash and he was trying to restore it. He says he is having difficulty and may have to wipe the whole windows program and start over. Very upsetting. So during the day I am in the dark until I get home to this computer. Needless to say, I am slow to responding and may not be posting anything significant until my computer is backup and running. Has anyone else had this kind of problem with windows 10?

Sort:  

That's a bummer. I am clinging to Win 7 .. dont want to update. Win 10 seems so buggy to me. I also have Linux Mint on an old laptop .. really stable and great security ...

I have about 15 years experience fixing windows systems (semi-professionally) and the answer to your question is: Yes. Windows almost always crashes at some point. It appears to be designed to do this - almost no exceptions.

Like @praguepainter, I have very (extremely) good experience with GNU/Linux systems. They are a lot more stable and tends to "just work". A bonus is that they don't snoop on you like Windos does, plus it's completely free!

A minus with GNU/Linux systems is that they don't come pre-installed from the shop, so you will need to either do it yourself or find someone that can set it up for you. Here are a few GNU/Linux variations I have good experience with (that are beginner-friendly):

Very interesting. How would it affect our online store with go daddy ?

Probably not at all. GoDaddy appears to be a webhosting company that also offer online tools to build websites/webshops. This means that you probably administer your web shop entirely in your web browser (Firefox/Google ChromeInternet Explorer/Edge etc.), right? If so, you should be fine.

There is, however, some software that is built only for windows (and/or mac) systems, that will not run on GNU/Linux (well, you actually can, but it's a bit more hassle and sometimes don't work). Instead you have an ocean of replacements readily and freely available for you to install and use.

Below is a table with a few common programs that people usually ask for a Linux equivalent to:

WindowsGNU/Linux
PhotoShopGIMP*
Microsoft officeLibreOffice*
OutlookMany good alternatives

* Can also be installed and used on Windows systems

If you're interested to learn more about this exciting operating system, I found an excellent post here on steemit from a couple of years back with some insightful comments: https://steemit.com/technology/@avsa/why-linux-over-windows

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80