Why I was forced to switch to a healthy eating lifestyle

in #life6 years ago

As a child, I loved eating soul food. My favorites were macaroni and cheese, fried chicken, and sweet potato yams. This love of foods followed me into my adult life. I would consume these unhealthy foods and then finish it off with a soda or two. My weight was steadily going up. I just shrugged it off and bought bigger clothes. Two years ago I went to have routine blood work done and, I got the shock of my life. I was diagnosed with high blood pressure, type I diabetes, and high cholesterol. My doctor told me if I didn’t change my eating habits that I was at risk for a heart attack or stroke. I was dumbstruck. I knew that this was definitely the time to change my eating habits. I sought out some suggestions and signed up for a healthy eating class. In the following paragraphs, I discuss how I benefited from eating healthy practices, how I encouraged and supported others, and how I am progressing on my lifelong journey.

One of the most important things that I learned from the healthy eating class was how to read food labels. Every week I would make a grocery list that consisted of fruits, vegetables, lean meat, and whole grains. At first I was tempted to buy sugary drinks and snacks, however, I would hear the words stroke and heart attack resounding in my ear. I also added exercise to my healthy eating habits. I have lost almost 40lbs and counting. My blood sugar is under control and my cholesterol is lower. My blood pressure has slowly stabilized. I realize how important it is to eat healthy if I want to be there for my family and friends.
I have given several testimonies in my church about my weight loss and health journey. My church family is extremely supportive and several members have suggested starting a healthy eating group. Members of my church continually share tips and advice with me to help with my progress. I routinely post on social media about my healthy eating lifestyle changes. I also encourage those who are struggling with their new approach on simple steps for maintaining a healthier lifestyle.
Koala.jpg
I did not always take my health seriously. I thought that I could eat and drink anything that I wanted and that there would not be any serious consequences. However, after being diagnosed with three serious health conditions, I knew that I had to make changes. Since then I have realized that it’s going to take time to improve my health. I have made some important steps on my journey to becoming healthier. I continue to remember to take care of my mental health. I don’t allow myself to become stressed out or become too discouraged. These can be major stumbling blocks if I allow them to go unchecked. I have learned that you can turn something negative into something positive. I have learned to appreciate the small things in life since I started my healthier eating lifestyle. I now live my life wiser and much healthier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52