Who Am I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Who Am I.JPG

Who Am I? That is the quintessential question of philosophy that almost everyone asks at least once during their lifetime. Usually, the answer is “I am not sure.” About every nine years, I search for the answer within myself. For most people, our emotions determine who we are. Often it is our negative feelings that tell us the most. When we are sad, depressed, enraged, frustrated, or in transition is when we look deep inside ourselves to try to get to the core of essence. It is then that we realize that we need to discover what we really want out of life.

What do I want? Seeking the answer to that question can also help determine who you are. What do you value? Do I seek money, fame, or status? I know from experience that material things will not inspire me to reach the answer, yet it is what we constantly desire. Does my state of mind affect my answer? Of course! Our feelings tell us who we are. If I am looking for answers in the wrong places, how can I trust that I am on the right path?

There always has to be hope. Without it, we are lost. There has been a 25% increase in suicide in the United States in the past ten years even though prevention efforts have also increased. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/07/health/suicide-rates-kate-spade.html?action=click&module=RelatedCoverage&pgtype=Article&region=Footer

I am certain that at this very moment, I am coming to terms with myself. I am allowing myself the courage to follow through and know that I will continually evolve. Above all, I am certain that I am not paralyzed to act. Every minute of the day is the opportunity to make a change. It doesn't have to start tomorrow. It can be right now. This moment. This time will be different. Start today.

I know it is more than what I can see. We are always in our heads and as hard as we think the question is, the answer is extremely easier than we can imagine. There are times when everything is effortless but those times are rare and hardly ever taken advantage of.

Why is it so hard to know? I once heard that experience is a burden and handcuffs us from doing what is in our heart.

When I started my first career in the corporate world, my boss told me that it is imperative to change positions every two years in order to grow. The first six months is the learning process; the next year is to excel at your assignment, and the final six months is to prepare to move forward to the next stage. I thought that was an innate way of thinking, and we can apply it to our lives

Go back and think about what you loved when you were a child, free from the burden of responsibilities. We have to always respect our inner child. Who we are is also in our joy, passion, love, freedom. It is in all our positive feelings, too. It is so easy to get caught in the negative. We overthink it, We get caught up in material things. We need to take deep breaths and relax more. We are all so overwhelmed. Have a simple conversation with people, face-to-face. Go back to your roots. Human interaction is key. Allowing others to know who we are makes us vulnerable, but it also makes us free.

Sort:  

This post has received a 4.71 % upvote from @boomerang.

I like your article, but its only scratching the surface of the big question "life". We are always changing a bit, not completely, because foundation is based in the early socialization, but I believe, that if you are reflecting your actions, you slowly get an image what you like and dont like, which leads to select the "good stuff" (There are endless possibilities). Then the path opens and brightens :) About selfimage I like Cooley´s theory of "looking glass self", could be worth a glance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69