You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shhh... don't tell em

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I remember my parents owned a knowledge dictionary called"The Encyclopedia Britannica." There were twenty or so thick volumes, and they contained knowledge about everything in the world. They were amazing, but they dated immediately, and if you checked them today, you'd probably discover that the US President is Ronald Reagan.

The open source Wikipedia whipped Encyclopedia Britannica's closed source ass lol. In a way, it's sad, cos those volumes seemed marvellous, a set of books containing the knowledge of everything, that you could own.

But the thing you don't own, the open source knowledge of Wikipedia, constantly self-corrects, and expands. It knows shit that happened an hour ago. It is infinitely superior.

Open source wins.

Scaredy cat-ism is not about hogging ideas. It is the thought that wikipedia already knows everything. What on earth could I add? Lol.

Sort:  

hahahah true... i guess I share the stupid ideas too. If you were to ask some of my dev friends, they will tell you im in a cloud half the time, but I try... One day I might find some gold!

But listen, we are we not adding ideas in here too? I mean, I'm sure I've written some stupid stuff, but there's a percentage there that must be valuable to someone.... So, I just share it... leave a little foot print behind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66625.38
ETH 3619.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89