You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Before it's Too Late

in #life6 years ago

Your writing is scary.

Your subject is "time," like Andrew Marvell's "To His Coy Mistress," in which he wrote that "at my back I always hear Time's winged chariot hurrying near."

And like Andrew Marvell, who wrote "we cannot make our sun stand still, yet we will make him run," your prescription is action.

Yet somehow, your writing is more scary than his.

I think it's because, though you are saying the same things, he laughs in the face of danger and truth. He has a lightness and bravado about him, like life is an adventure.

You, by contrast, present life as a horror show. There is an affecting vulnerability in your writing. An open, honest, undispelled fear.

Where Marvell moves boldly forward to battle the sun, you helplessly retreat into yourself, and repeat yourself: "I feel so limited."

The result is that your writing is terrifying. Phenomenally scary!

And that ability to instill naked fear in your reader, that's a good thing, as horror writers, like Stephen King, are some of the most successful people on the planet. :)

Sort:  

I've never thought that my writing is terrifying and I'll take it as a compliment. Thank you for the encouraging words. I will surely check Andrew Marvell's writing.

It IS a compliment.

I love writing that makes me feel something.

Fear can be useful too. Since, as you say, soon "the things we chase in life WILL no longer matter," that tells me I need to take creative risks now, take action now, while things DO matter, enjoy this moment, before my ephemeral existence is over.

Andrew Marvell was writing in 1650, so his time ran out, just like he (and you) predicted. But he wrote a poem that I love, even today, just as I love your piece.

Take care. :)

Thank you for the kind words.

I need to take creative risks now, take action now, while things DO matter, enjoy this moment, before my ephemeral existence is over.

I feel the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63