You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Four reasons I think holidays are overrated

in #life7 years ago

Interesting points that are worth thinking about and examining, but I think I disagree with most.

People need experiences and experiences help change, shape and expand us as people. Of course holidays (if done right I guess) offer a much more densely packed time of experiencing new and different things. So even if a holiday might take up just a few percentage points of our time, they might take a much larger chunk of our experiences for the year because they are so packed with them. And of course a large source of new experiences would have an effect on your identity and I think that's not only OK, that's a good thing - you get a way to expand your horizons and to enlarge and shake up the box you are usually thinking inside.

Oh, and if you feel holidays and vacations are boring, you are simply not doing the right type of holidays for you. The only time I've been kind of bored on vacation is when I've had other people decide on everything with me having very little say (with my parents as a kid). But since I've had the option to choose what to do with my holidays, I haven't had a dull time.

Sure, if you are doing it because you feel obligated to and other people or circumstances are dragging you on vacations you are not really interested in, you are going to have a dull time, but the rest of us genuinely enjoy traveling, seeing new places and relaxing the way we feel relaxed.

Sort:  

Yes fair point, I was only talking about the 'un-examined' holiday!

Nailed it, I totally agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60085.46
ETH 2416.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43