You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being visually impaired: Things I surprisingly can or can’t do.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

@boosje123 that sounds like a hard way to read! That's really cool you can do it despite your visual impairment.

Have you ever felt the need to use a screen reader for interacting with computers, or experimented with using one? If so, what were your impressions?

Sort:  

I have actually made an article about that, you can read it here-->https://steemit.com/life/@boosje123/being-visually-impaired-technology-has-made-it-possible-for-me-to-study

I still try to rely on my vision rather than my hearing. I am more of a person that likes to read things, especially when I need to store the information very well. For example, by studying for an exam. But if it's about articles on steemit or just fun books, I will use speech enabled technology to make it read to me. But that depends on what it is, an monitor for my books, my laptop with speech software for websites etc. For my laptop I use software called 'zoomtext'. It had zoom functions and speech software but zoomtext is more optimalfor zoom function (that is what I hear from others) and for people who need to do more with speech, they often use software called 'supernova'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67282.50
ETH 2627.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68