Finding Christ: Part 1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So, as I am sure you can guess from the title of this post I'm going to be writing about a somewhat profound topic. And one of which I never thought I'd be discussing, not in regards to my own experience at least.

Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 01.17.09.png
A shot from post "Training my ass off", the sunrise view from campus at Aberystwyth University, I was up before dawn most days.

First things first

This September I started my first year studying Psychology at Aberystwyth University in Wales. Arriving with a pretty closed mind about how things would play out, and how things will develop, I entered this new realm that is living away from home with one real goal in mind. And that was to train my absolute ass off, relentlessly. When I arrived with a fairly "closed mind" this was with regards to; "I WILL not spend a penny on a drop of alcohol, not consume it", "My relationship WILL survive", and "The thing that is THE MOST important thing in my life (me) will remain being THE MOST important thing in my life".

Could I be more wrong...

Before long it was pretty obvious that making any attempt at continuing my relationship at the time would be unjust to say the least.
Simultaneously I was happily and successfully training my ass off, significant gains were being made. Content with that, the training remains to be going like clockwork I am happy to say. Fuelled by a mighty source of fury and reason. But that is a whole other post.

The beginning of the end, or the beginning of the path to righteousness, depending upon your point of view all started when I decided to crack open a bottle of white wine given to me by a friend from college months earlier. This breaking of my at the time teetotalism ultimately derived from me contemplating and reflecting on my immense lack of sexual fulfilment and my unquenched lustful state. So I drank, I drank, and drank. Hit the town, with a few flatmates and became immensely paralytic. Woke up for lectures the next day still drunk, cracked on with life. It made me reflect a lot on my behaviour, I rarely go out on nights out, I almost never enjoy them. But the terrifying thing was I actually enjoyed this one. Enjoyed being pissed out my mind, being approached by all manner of people who I'd imagine partake in this degenerate behaviour more often than myself.

Then it all began to hit me "I'm better than this", "This is not me", "This is not who I want to be".

Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 01.21.44.png

If the reader would like me to continue the account of these events I'd be grateful if you upvoted, commented and resteemed this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49