2018 - Back at University - Back to the training

in #life6 years ago

I'll start with saying happy new year. I've been back in Aberystwyth for just under two weeks at present. Being immediately met with two exams to tackle the has been an element of pressure. But the timing is pretty good. One week to prepare to the first one, then another week after that to prepare for the second. At the same time I'm also at the start of my January to March Ironman specific training regime.

Hard to juggle the two?

The reality of working and training at the same time is not like juggling two balls. It's more like juggling five or more. Taking care of uni work, swimming, cycling, running and recovery. But there is a sixth, at the top of all this is God, and prayer. I already dislike the tone of this post, probably because its a reflection of my current state writing at 6:36 AM before swim training at 7:15. But don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining, it would be mad to complain. I love the challenge, I love the hardship, because thats where growth happens.

Screen Shot 2018-01-18 at 6.43.40 AM.png
Where does the motivation and drive come from? The answer is relatively simple.

Plans for 2018

There isn't a a huge amount on the radar at present. Just to keep training vigorously, I'm currently hitting 8 to 9 hours per week of swimming, cycling and running, plus strength and conditioning time in the gym. But this will be more like 20 hours per week as the spring approaches. The biggest race on the calendar this year is Ironman Hamburg where I'll hopefully leave a huge dent in the age category ranking in pursuit of a qualifying slot at the Ironman world championships.
Aside from the relatively new found biblical drive within me, motivation is never hard to find. Purely because its not just about ME anymore. I expect to be supporting another before long. So when I rise to hopefully make an appearance amongst the pro field in ten or so years time, I will have someone to share the fruit of my hard work with. Even now the brief request from the right person saying "Make me proud" before I head down to hit the pool goes a long way.

I wish you all the best in the pursuit of your 2018 goals. Do not negotiate with the voice of your own self doubt, under any circumstances.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94