30 Days of Healthy Eating - Day #1 Broccoli Tahini

in #life6 years ago

Hey guys and gals!

If you remember last month Tamara and I did the 30 days of green smoothies challenge where for 30 days in a row we made 1 green smoothie and added it into our diets.

The results were great and we are still doing our green smoothies on a daily basis!

Our healthy habit for March is going to be eating 1 vegan meal per day alongside our green smoothies. If you think you are up for the challenge I welcome you to come join us and try out some of these nutritious and amazing meals.

I will be trying my best to do a daily post as well showcasing to everyone what we are making!

Our first meal for day 1 is Broccoli Tahini

P1000142.JPG

To be honest I wasn't expecting much from this as I am not a big broccoli fan but to my amazement this recipe is actually really good! Let's go over the ingredients and how we made this delicious dish.

Ingredients

2 cups frozen broccoli
2 tablespoons tahini
1/4 cup of water
1/2 of a juiced lemon
pepper

First off we have our frozen broccoli here in a nice bowl. Remember to use roughly 2 cups worth for each person. I made this recipe for myself and it was actually quite filling.

P1000133.JPG

Next up we have our fresh lemon juice. I think the lemon juice is what really brings the broccoli to life in this recipe. I used about 1/2 of a decently sized lemon and that worked pretty good. Go ahead and transfer your broccoli to a pot or pan and squeeze in your lemon juice (watch for seeds...)

P1000134.JPG

P1000135.JPG

Next you you are going to want to add about 1/4 of a cup of water. The water helps to stop the broccoli from burning and creates a simmer sort of effect.

After that close the lid of the pot/pan and turn your stove to medium. I cooked mine for roughly 5-10 minutes. It's up to you how long you steam your broccoli, just stick a fork in and as long as they are soft and warm you are good to go.

P1000137.JPG

The next step is to add the tahini. I used roughly 2 tablespoons and it tasted pretty good. You can add more or less depending on personal preference.

P1000139.JPG

Grab a spoon and mix it all together. The final step is to add some pepper and you are good to go!

P1000141.JPG

There you go, you now have some delicious broccoli and tahini!

The great thing about this recipe is that it tastes great, has good old broccoli in it and takes literally 5-10 minutes to make. The price is also fairly cheap as well especially since we went with frozen broccoli.

Try the recipe out and let us know what you think in the comments below!

Cheers.

P1000142.JPG

Robin.

Sort:  

Can I order you as my healthy cook? I will pay you in SBD each day hahaha

haha steemit cooks. sounds like a new career plan ;)

This recipe is too easy and delicious for others not to try! It is also the perfect take-along dish for picnics or potlucks.
Your taste buds with think broccoli, while your body says “heart healthy“!

Thanks for the comment :). I really enjoyed this as well!

So this is why you quickly jumped on the pizza idea for lunch yesterday. Now you are on the healthy wagon and didn't invite me for supper :P

;) . maybe next time Namu...maybe next time...

FEED MEEEEE!!!!

so when is Dinner??? :) thanks for posting, upvoted and following.

right now ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66