Be our guest

in #life6 years ago

My wife and I have a guest staying with us for the next few days. He's a friend of my wife's brother from Germany, where my wife grew up, and he seems like a pretty nice guy.

However one thing has bugged me about him being here. He hasn't offered to pay for anything. I'm not sure if it's just the way I was raised, but when I stay over at someone's house and get to save money on not paying for a hotel or hostel, I try to reward them for the generosity by taking them out to dinner, buying them a gift, etc.

On the other hand, he has seemed to expect to get a free ride here. We went on a day trip today and he didn't offer to chip in for gas, he didn't offer to treat my wife and I to lunch, or even to pay his portion of the bridge toll as we crossed. The trip was something he suggested to a place I didn't particularly want to go since I had been before. Am I wrong to find it insulting?

careerbuilder-ar_post-349.jpg

Sort:  

He sounds like my brother! I would find it rude that no effort was made, unless they were going through a hard time and then stay was completely on me, so to speak.

I have Upvoted your task from kryptonia @stevehuggett :)

From my perspective, he should definitely make an effort to show gratefulness for your gratuity. If he has the monetary means to do so that is. If he has no source of income, I hope he is making a valiant effort to find one, because your gratuity cannot last forever.

The trip was something he suggested

This, without question, should have been paid for in full
by him.
That is only my opinion, but I would never even think of suggesting a trip of any sort, without fully intending to pay.

Since I agree with you 100% that this is a total slap in your face, I'm upvoting this 100%

Much love,
@futuremind

Nice one, keep it up. ID @chetachi26

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

lovely post, please continue your good work. Kryptonia id @grace234

Thanks for sharing. @ jamescrusader

upvote,resteem
kryptonia @hokkaido

Chr7is from Kryptonia, the comments on the Kryptonia post is broken.. Can't comment my name there..

That's okay, it was either there or here. Either is okay with me :D

Done With Comment : )

But you didn't upvote the post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75