The Ultimate Human: Exercise

in #life6 years ago

Disclaimer:

This is not a professional advice. It is purely based on personal experience and research. The way I live my life may not be for everybody so please do your own research.

Exercise

Let me start by saying that almost any exercise that you do will have a positive effect on your well-being. However, after trying many different exercises and having different types of health problems, I finally have my desired training method. How did I get here and why?
1437459744082.jpg

Gym bro

Like most people, I started with my active lifestyle in the gym. There I learned the fundamentals of exercise and after only a year of training, I started thinking about bodybuilding. In that time I got my knee injury that caused my training to slow down for about 6 months. I had a trainer during this time that had a lot of knowledge but also didn’t know everything and that probably played its part in my injury. All I’m saying is learn a proper way to squat.

That’s when I started realizing that all this isolated strict movement is great for strength but it’s not really functional and cardio is also mostly poor. I wanted to find something I can mix with my training in the gym. That’s when I came about CrossFit.

uusi-crossfit-routa-oulussa.jpg

Crossfit

First few months very quite difficult as we realized we didn’t have much of a technique at all. However, after a while, I really got into it and switched from a mix of CrossFit and gym to purely CrossFit. My cardio and functional movement got so much better. Weightlifting was my favorite part and that’s why I decided to start doing it more.

clean1.jpg

Weightlifting

I was getting pretty good at it. I even went to a few competitions. The problem was that it took a toll on my shoulders and elbows. As I suffer from hyper flexibility ( Joint are more flexible than they should be) it was not very pleasant to lift heavy weights. I stopped. I only did a few weightlifting exercises that I felt okay with and only went for 60–80% of my max.

I shifted my focus to something I never liked that much.

221365_206631969377347_103203006386911_567522_2883486_o.jpg

Gymnastics and body-weight

This is where I saw a place for improvement. Well, I started training and everything was good. I was mixing it with CrossFit and later started doing some flips. However, my strength was not as it was before. I was better at everything else but I needed to come back to the gym once in a while.

From here I started experimenting with combining different exercises and creating my training schedule. I learned about a new concept called MovNat and some forms martial arts. I also had a lot to learn from friends from different fields.

story-20151005183458-movnat001_cropped_1584x780.jpg

The Ultimate Program

The program is fairly simple. Listen to your body. When you feel that your strength is getting weaker, concentrate on that. If it’s your cardio do that. Implement a lot of natural movement in your movement, yoga helps. Reconnect with your animal side and listen to it.

Most of us will never be professional athletes but we can all be the best version of ourselves. Give your body what it needs, not what it wants. I switch my routine almost every week or 2. However, you need to base your routine on what your goal is. Either way, work hard and love to move.

Read part 1: The Ultimate Human: Diet

https://steemit.com/life/@robertmuller/the-ultimate-human-diet

I do not claim ownership of any presented photos.

Recommended sources:

https://crossfit.com/
https://www.movnat.com/

ME:

INSTAGRAM- @myllerio
FACEBOOK- https://www.facebook.com/robo.muller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45