You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🐺 The effect of social media on society - an opinion piece

in #life7 years ago (edited)

thanks @wolv for your insights and opinions. I think Social Media has kind of taken over especially with the Millenials. I was at Cici's pizza with my family last night. And there was young couple in upper teens/early twenties right in the booth in front of us. Really nice looking, maybe even considered glamorous, celebrity like. But they were both sitting next to each other looking at the phones non stop throughout their dinner together. Just weird !

It was so bizarre to me. This young man had this gorgeous, vivacious young lady and he never looked up from his phone to make eye contact with her.

So Social media has it's good points but also not so good points. It seems to make some people just skip the human relation part of looking each other eye to eye in person. Kind of sad :(

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your opinion @robertandrew. I do absolutely agree with you even though I am a Millenial myself (and do have some of the traits of that too...).
It's like I said SocialMedia is amazing for getting a better connection with the outside world, but you'll have to sacrifice part of your "inside" world for it.

When I am in a group I do still look at my phone once in a while (as I am quite introverted and when noone is talking to me I don't know what to do haha, Yes I should indeed work on that).
Or if I am with people I don't like...
But if it's one on one... with someone interesting I won't even know my phone exsists

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63875.92
ETH 2747.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65