Should I Follow My Dreams? YES!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I got an email today and it really got to me ...

The guy in the email really opened his heart out to me.

I am 41 with a young family and mortgage and I am studying project management while working full time as a project coordinator.

The business where I work has a bit of a staffing issue, meaning there's not enough of us and the customers get frustrated with the constant missing deadlines. The pressure is intense.

I can't help but wonder what it would be like to chase my dreams. I mean, life doesn't go on forever and I don't want to let my dreams go to waste otherwise I feel like I haven't lived any part of my life on my own terms.

I feel almost like a prisoner ... too dramatic maybe, but I feel trapped in what the world requires me to do to get ahead in the rat race.

prisoner.jpg

I could have been this guy. I actually got an email from an old school friend the other day who was turning 50 next year, living with his Dad and working night shifts at the local supermarket. I feel like crying when I get these emails.

He also asked me about writing children's books ...

Follow your dreams

I can offer him advice but, importantly, I can't offer him any hope. I told him that whatever he wants to do, he should do it.

Publish that damn children's book. It might not work – but wtf? At least you'd have tried and you learn a ton by trying and failing. And then you start again, and you fail again, and you learn even more. Until one day you start making money on the side.

And then a bit more money. And then a bit more.

Until you leave your job and live your dream. That's what I did.

Love freedom more than money

I never had a good job. I was never successful at school or at work and that was of great benefit. Because the bar wasn't raised too high for my business!

Cut down expenses to a minimum – it makes business success so much easier.

Business is hard. Don't make it harder by wanting to be rich.

What do you think?

What would you say to this guy? What would you say to my 49 year old schoolfriend who's living with his Dad?

Did you enjoy this Steemit post? If so, please make sure you UPVOTE it, here on Steemit and share in the rewards!

Do you like my articles on online business? Do you want to make more money online whilst enjoying a great lifestyle? If so, please follow me @robcubbon here on Steemit. More great stuff coming!

make-money-on-steemit.png

Sort:  

hi frined, you are in chiang mai very nice city, I been in thailand for long time now I miss, I was with my thaigirlfriend in thailand before for long time about 3 years, but I must leave from thailand because I have no money, now I see that I lost my heart over there, but I see is posible to start to win money in other ways like before, thanks for your help, hope you be happy.

Thank you. I hope you find your heart and come back to Thailand. :)

Thanks for sharing ! Upvoted! I have started following you . I would appreciate your follow back . Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by robcubbon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.46 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @robcubbon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47