[ROAD PHEROMONE 01] Escape From Travel

in #life7 years ago (edited)

00502155_20160630.JPG

I met a Korean traveler who travels around the world in Cuzco, Peru. She said that she happened to find and read the travel book about Thailand I wrote in. The book that the readers and acquaintances have left in Pai's old bookstore. Yesol was glad that she did not know she would meet the author in South America. I was also glad.

"How much longer will you travel in Central and South America?"
"Well, it will be two years or three years. It is a very large land. "
"So long? I'm tired of 8 months. When I first left Korea, I really flew. But from when, it seems that the excitement has disappeared and the passion has disappeared. I see what I see already."

"When many travelers travel for a long time, they come to that situation. At first they are full of energy like the spring pressed. When they get out enough, they lose their elasticity. Then you have to press the spring yourself. If four things (labor, study, play, rest) in life do not harmonize, vitality does not rise. Study only. Work only. Play only, Relax only, Life does not get the fun. No matter what you see, you are uninterested. You will be not interested in anything."
"That's exactly what I am. How do I deal with this? "

"Renting a house, staying in a city, or finding a temporary job is another way. Wake up on time, work on time, sleep on time. If so, the desire for freedom is springing up. There will be elasticity to pop out. It is not a formal job, but in Central and South America there are many communities, so called 'community'. If you work 6 to 8 hours a day, they will provide you with meals and room. Orchards, farms, building houses and so on. Mainly hippies use this system, when they want to settle down. after buy some land and get someone to build a house, clean a field with them. Do you imagine the hippy host and hippy guest? Hahaha. Another way is using WWOOF."

00502149_20160630.JPG

"What is WWOOF?"
"You work 6 hours a day, 5 days a week, and get a meal at a farm that you joined in each country. In Korea, as a concept of English training, they think that there are only WWOOF farms in English-speaking countries. there are many WWOOF farms in central and south america. The annual fee for WWOOF is around 30 ~ 40 dollar. So, just think of it for a few days room charge. You can also learn Spanish and experience local culture in there.”

A few months after I broke up with Yesol, I joined the Latin American WWOOF Association. Escape from travel, so to speak. Over 180 farms nationwide in Argentina were looking for people to work. I pointed out that the area is Bariloche of Argentina. Bruce Chatwin, a British writer who wrote [Patagonia], loved Patagonia and called people "South America's Alps." What is life like in Lake District? In the middle of Naueluapi National Park where there are more and more blue lakes under the snow. I found a lakeside farm and sent my mail. Above all, I liked the fact that they offer 'solitary'. I received an e - mail in the morning.

'Come and work from next Monday. Follow to this address. '

00502153_20160630.JPG

10 minutes by bus from Bariloche center. It was a herb farm operated by grandmother, son Maxim, daughter-in-law Grace. I decided to stay at Maxim's house, but Maxim said I could use the attic above the warehouse. I climbed the iron stairs and opened the front door. High ceilings, large room. I saw the fir forest outside the window, and the feeling of the creaky wooden floor was good.

"I like this room. I'll use this place. "
"It would be more comfortable for you, because my sons are having a lot of trouble"

Wake up at 8:30 in the morning. I cross over to Maxim’s house for breakfast. In the morning I was working on packaging herbs. When Maxim goes out to the city with the shipment on that day, i moves grains with Grace and sows, sprinkles water on the vegetable garden, or spits. Organic farm, The existing farm machinery was the only mower. Shovel, pickaxe. I used my unused muscles, so after work, I slept as if dead. Then adapt. In the evening, i went out to Bariloche center to watch movies, swam on the lakeside on a clear day, climbed a mountain peak on a weekend,

There was no TV or internet, but I was not bored. There was no time to get bored as if i was watching Argentine family sitcom. The cast includes grandmother, son, daughter-in-law, kindergarten, elementary student, and infant. The two sons of Maxim are opposite to what their parents say. The children did what Maxim and Grace said "Stop it!" and they never stopped it. Maxim was a macho-type man who hunt deer, So, it was a little bit strange that he never hit children who did not hear of him. He just looked at his two sons and shouted "Fuck!" and he was just pounding his head.

Whether It was the book that Maxim read, Jack London's novel which I liked in my childhood was rolling with dust in the attic, I think Jack London is one of the underestimated writers in the history of literature, because of the popularity and popularity of the adventure novel. His novels are fun and easy to read, but there is a profound message that can not be dispelled by the popularity. I turn over the bookshelf. [THE CALL OF THE WILD]....Animals that regain wildness do not go back into the fence twice, though if they return to the fence, they will be able to get food to eat and get warm place to sleep.

When you get used to the comfort inside of fence, you mistake 'permission' in a fence as 'freedom'. And you will forget "Truth" that you are trapped in a fence.

00502150_20160630.JPG

It was the night before the end of the 20-part sitcom. The Antarctic penguin looked like a kick, the wind was cold. The fir forest shakes, and ‘Where I go?’ half moon shakes at the top of the fir, 'But I must leave...'

I got up in the morning and had a last meal, and the youngest son asked.

"Uncle, must you leave? When will you come again? "
"I'll come if grandmother let me know that you are listening to your dad."

In my reply, Jose closed his mouth and made a thoughtful look. "Hey Soldiers, are you ready? it's time to go!" When Maxim started his car engine to school, Jose grabbed my legs. ‘Dude, when did you get so friendly?’ Jose said, turning his wet eyes in my legs.

"When I'm an elementary student, I'll listen to my mom and dad. Then come on. "

Maxim returned from bringing two sons to kindergarten and school. He want to take me to the city. After crossing the lake, we arrived at the bus terminal. Maxim extended his hand. While we was shaking hands, he said. "When you visit Argentina again, come to my house. of course, I can guess you have friends all over the world. but, let me see you again. "

I sent Maxim and walked toward the terminal building. For twenty days, the spring had pressed, the world began to look strange again, the smell of freedom felt in the wind. Now, travel back!

00502146_20160630.JPG

Sort:  

wowww! such a great post! must be sad to leave their family after spending 20 days with them. thank you for sharing your story with us!

Yes. i was so sad at that time. I have met a lot of good people on the road. The most precious thing in the road was people! Thank @andywond31 very much. You also gave me the strength to keep up with my story.

My pleasure man! 😀

Wow...What a read. I loved your story. I teared up a little over Maxim's goodbye. That is one of the most warm hearted things I have ever read.

Thanks a lot. i am not an native english speaker. So I did my best. Your comment is the first comment on my story in English. Thank you very much. You gave me the strength to keep up with my story.

Great post!!

Great story, i like the attic photo. thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34