I quit smoking: Day 1

in #life7 years ago


I'm going to be chronicling me quitting.


Each day, I will write about how I feel, my urges and if I've cheated. So far today, I shared one cigarette butt with my other half, so technically I already failed. Kind of feels like my soul is being sucked out of my chest. Doesn't feel great, but I've had worse feelings. Especially after having a pretty stressful night, last night, I'm fighting back against the urge to run out and buy a pack. My next goal for tomorrow is to stash away any and all lighters so that they're not in view. I've smoked since I was 14, I'm almost 29. Enough is enough. I can do this, I can be strong. I'm keeping myself occupied with my work in order to not even think about temptation. If anyone else wants to join me in quitting and not buying cigarettes, feel free to leave a comment.

WE CAN SUPPORT EACH OTHER! :D <3

Sort:  

I've managed to quit a few times, and have learned a few tricks along the way. This time was harder than all the others, so I resorted to a vape. I was always against the idea, but this way I can at least move down in nicotine levels until I've got it completely out of my system and only have to deal with the oral fixation issue.
The thing that's helped most though is my mindset. Just saying, "No!" to yourself is going to stir up your inner child, who will have tantrums and try to convince you that you're wrong. So focusing on all the intrinsic rewards will keep those feelings of loss at bay. Notice your breathing. Notice your senses heightening, your clothes smelling better, your body finally feeling hydrated, your skin and hair looking better, all the time and money you're saving. Feel sorry for all the smokers you see torturing themselves by having to be in the cold. Remember all the times you were stressed out because you were unable to stop what you were doing to have a cig. Everytime you have a chance, but don't take it, let yourself have a moment of pride. After taking this approach I started to forget that cigarettes even existed. It helps of course to have a good support system. Your friends should also be invested in your progress, rather than being the source of your temptation.
After you successfully quit, try to remember how you felt on and off of cigs, and appreciate how hard you worked for your new life, so that you don't have to be like me, and just undo it all again.

I am actually on my last pack as well. Haha. Ughhh... I don't like this idea. But I cant taste anything. I can't smell. It just. And I keep coughing up stuff. And everyone has cancer in my family right now so. I think it's time to stop.

Hahaha this is great. Thanks for sharing.

Yay!!!! ill join you!!!!
Be patient!

Awesome! I will upvote you a bit later once my vote power comes back a bit! We can all do this! I'm about halfway through my shift so far. Been a pretty eventful day. I am likely going to go get a rubber band and snap myself at every urge, so my brain associates pain with craving.

That works....chewing gumm does too
Also stopping amd acknowledging the addiction when you have cravings and ita often tied to an emotion or learned behavior. Quitting smoking is difficult for the physical aspects. But also the emotions that can come up when we arent pacified can be overwhelming. So be patient and gentle. You are purging. So am i.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65