Getting your life together

in #life7 years ago

It's odd, I've always wanted to "adult".

  • Meaning, get my shit together.
  • Meaning, get a career, get a house, decorate said house, have a long term relationship, maybe not get married but being the couple that looks out for each other.

image

I'm almost 30 now, I've been trying to reach this goal for 10 years now.

It. Is. So. Goddamn. Hard.

An important part of "adulting" is to have a good entourage. I have surrounded myself unknowingly but the wrong kind of people. The more I advance in life, the more they wish to see me fail.

I don't know where this mentality of tearing us down came from, but to those that practice this, you will never make your life better. Ever. You will eventually alienate everyone positive in your life, and you will end up alone with nothing to stand on.

Rant aside, to those affected by these, for lack of a better word, energy vampires, drop them.

Easier said than done, I know.

I was the one that wanted to make everyone happy. Most people unfortunately only care about their own happiness, and that burned me. I've learned to be selfish where it counts and I'm much happier now.

Sort:  

There's a difference between selfish and self-care. Dropping toxic folk is part of self-care. But yeah, "selfish where it counts" is pretty much the same idea. I'm glad you're doing better now!!

Most people can't tell the difference

Congratulations @rlyeh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58