The Universe Provides (Tea, And Other Things)

in #life5 years ago

So I needed a teapot, and went to the local op shop and lo! .. the perfect teapot. Like the centre aisle at Aldi, the universe provided, also giving me a book to match.

IMG_20190710_091648_924.jpg

The thing was, I was only allowed to buy the teapot (for six dollars) if I bought the set, consisting of side plates, a sugar bowl and teacups and saucers. 'You do realise I will simply walk outside, put the teapot in the car, and return with a charitable donation of crockery, right?' I say.

'I'm sorry, love, its out of my hands' she says. There is apparently a Crockery Overseer in the back room. Parting with 6 bucks, I take it all home to think about it. Turns out, drinking tea from cute orange cups with a matching teapot is delightful. Simply delightful. Who knew?

The point is that if you covet something, like a teapot, do not buy it new. Put the item down. Take a breath. Walk away from the shop. Wait. Go to the charity shop. All of them, if neccessary. You will find what you are looking for - for a fraction of the price, as well as stepping outside of a culture that wants you to feed a economy that encourages you to buy, buy, buy, when we already have what we need. And if you dont want your stuff, give it to someone who might. It just might bring them as much joy as I feel when I drink foraged herb tea out of my new old orange teapot.

Found any charity shop treasures of late?



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

image.png


Mindfullife.png
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

I love charity shops, there is a great donation shop where I am but to be honest I have the boat next to me and get lots of things I need from there. Funnily enough I have been on the lookout for a teapot as well xx

I love a cuppa tea from a teapot from the charity shop... and a pack a biscuits from Aldi. In all seriousness though, I often do the same as you.

See something I want and resist, only to find the same/similar item cheaper and at a more interesting place. Charity shops and really old book shops are my favorite :)

Yes! Its just such a lovely thing to do. Almond fingers from Aldi are hard to resist!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh damn. Now its mid arvo, Im miles from Aldi.. have sat down for a cuppa and have a massive craving for almond fingers.

I don't shop in charity shops much as I can find really great stuff at tag sales for a fraction of the price. Last weekend we got a brad gun, normally $70, for $5. It works just fine! We also got a wet tile cutter with a diamond blade for $35. I'd hate to think what that cost.... My husband found a building jack for $5, my guess it would be $40 - $50.... Those are just the most recent great finds. The list goes on.

Tag sales were how we survived for 20 years on the single disability income. We'd be out there every Saturday morning at 7:30 to hit the earliest ones. That's where we will be tomorrow morning....

Oh we call them garage sales, i think its the same thing? With the advent of Facebook marketplace there isnt as many as there used to be... I used to love them too. Maybe we should start a new tag.. #treasurefinds! They sound like BRILLIANT bargains. I would MUCH rather a second hand bargain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I refuse to pay full price for many items unless I can't find it second hand. I got a wonderful high quality, stainless steel cooking pot set with the heavy bottoms and two sizes of steamers that I would have paid over a hundred dollars in the store but got them for under thirty at the thrift store.

Lovely bonus of the book on herbal teas! Enjoy!

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Haha great story and now you will probably keep that matching tea set for many more cups. I think I will look for some household items at charity shops when I get my own place, maybe I will also end up with a random matching set of something 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Start collecting now! I love random crockery. All of my cutlery is 10 c op shop finds... I love the patterns! And I really hate to be told to match. Its a character thing. I think I wear odd socks more often than not. Just dare me to match, mother, and I wont! He he. There are some beautiful odd sets out there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha I always say a creative mind doesn't wear matching socks 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

When Tribe Steemup? When water is in the teapot it takes the shape of the teapot, when it is in the cup it takes the shape of the cup. Become like water.

Ha. I do hope you will become a member soon. I have put in my best words

I do love that quote period my Mum and I were talking yesterday about flexibility an adaptability in people , opposed to those who are very conservative and set in their ways. We were wondering why some people could not move away from limited thinking and whether it was a genetic or a learnt mechanism. And then of course there is astrological factors as well I suppose . But I'm glad I am more on the flexible side, like water taking different shapes in teapots and cups of all sizes

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, you are flexible in mind and body. Adaptability is the secret to survival and thriving.

lovely find, such ha cheerful teapot! We try to buy second hand as much as possible, and I love the hunt. The funniest story I have is from when I donated a box of things to the local charity and a few days later a few of the items arrived back at my table. My mother in law saw them, though I'd love them and bought them for me.

Haha that's so funny. Mine is going to an op shop and finding the boots I thought I'd lost there. I had left them behind at the yoga studio I used to practice at and forgot about them. They'd do a monthly clean up of left behind shoes (it was hot yoga, so a lot of people like me just walking out in an exhausted puddle and barefoot) and take them to the opshop. I knew theywere mine coz they still had my socks in. I had to buy them back for 4 bucks.

Heck, that is a lucky find! Those boots were obviously attached to you (or you to them).

We have a never ending stream of travelers and people who plan to live out the rest of their lives in Asia, and then don't. LOL. I get boxes of "stuff" every other week! We have a fairly minimalist approach - one thing arrives in the house, usually something else has to go. NICE find on the teapot!

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.886 which ranks you at #1314 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 1322).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 198 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78