You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media Didn't Make Us Worse. It Revealed What Kind of People We Really Are

in #life6 years ago

I agree with you to some extent but it does give us a medium with which to do this without fear of Reprisal. If it didn't exist we wouldn't have opportunity to behave so badly. A pity other social medias don't have a down voting system to discourage that kind of behaviour.

I guess there are so many other social factors involved as well. Mental health issues , poor parenting and education about technology etiquette and all sorts of things. Interestingly I was listening to a woman online who had done research about New Years resolutions. 150 years ago people would say things like I would like to be more charitable or to be more careful about how I treat others and what I say. Now people say I want to lose weight or buy a new car. What does this say say say about us as a society , culture , the human race? I am for the most part quite positive and love people but when I see what they are capable of I get a little bit despondent and negative.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That is my point. How do you know that these people are good when they are forced to do good things in order to survive?

Maybe you're right that people wanted to be more charitable years ago. But we haven't lost that opportunity today. Social media would enhance our ability to be charitable. But we made a different choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65