Impossible Situations We Land in... in the Workplace.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

What is missing in your workplace? What ridiculous interviews did you have to endure? Are you happy with what you do?

I was there when my theology faculty celebrated their 150th birthday. Our theme for that year was Human Dignity. The principle of human dignity lies in recognising the image of Christ in everyone you meet, regardless of their race, class or religious beliefs. In other words, recognising and treating them with same respect you would give to someone closest to you.
Integrity is probably the most admired and valued quality in my book. It is described as “moral soundness”. Equality, social justice… they all fall under the code of integrity. If human dignity is recognising Christ and yourself in a complete stranger, then integrity is acting upon that principle.

What I have come across in my time applying and having various jobs is quite the opposite from integral. I have had incredible employers that have a backbone and care for their employees, but I have also had opposite experiences in the workplace, and found the most unpleasantness in the process of applying for a job. Interviews are stressful to begin with, can you imagine being discriminated by someone you don’t know? This happens all too often.

(
Source

In the westernised capitalist world of today, where has integrity taken its place? A world filled with the underpaid and over-educated, does such a quality exist or is it a myth conjured by idealist, such as myself? Is it the adult version of Santa Claus? In my experiences very few men and women hold such a quality. The workplace can be fraught with unequal pay, verbal abuse and little or no job security. I have been at the mercy of sexist jokes, inequality and superficial judgments. I have gone to interviews where I was simply not skinny enough to be considered for a job. People have been discriminated by race, sex, looks and even by the sound of their voice. What are the most ridiculous questions you have been asked? I have been asked if I was married, I have been asked if I was Christian, whether I have any children, etc. My personal business weighed more that my qualifications or aptitude.

I have had colleagues being verbally battered by a superior, where their manager chooses not to protect them from this unfairness but instead snickers as if it’s the joke of the year. The employee is unfairly treated, but chooses to say nothing in fear of a quick dismissal. Such behaviour is unacceptable and boils my blood. How has this been allowed to continue? Yes laws have been introduced to better the workplace and yes more women are being employed. But at what cost? Women are still being paid less than men for the same services rendered and companies seem to relish the idea of saving money.

()
Source

Do you have integrity? If you are or could be a business owner, would you take care of your employees? Would you look at the gardener and janitor with the same value as your executives?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55