Peoples misconception about Africa created by the media and how tourism can help solve this.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

A few minutes ago I saw a commercial on tv about donating to feed hungry children in Africa. I thought to myself. WOW ! What a misleading representation of Africa.

--------------------------The Actual Africa------------------------------


So although Africa isn't the best developed continent in the world and although certain parts do appear like showcased in the ads, I feel like it is too generalized.

There are parts that are struck with severe poverty but it is not the whole of Africa.

If you saw one of those commercials, would you consider going to Africa?

More than half would have said "NO"


It hurts the African tourism Industry which in turn creates more poverty if you think about it. The more these commercials generalize the African continent the less people would be interested to Traveling to this breathtaking land.

When talking to foreigners I often pick up their misconception of Africa. Upon traveling to Africa they thought wild animals roamed the streets . This misconception is all caused by the media.

These campaigns are wonderful ideas and it helps feed millions of Africans a year and I support it. I honestly do. I just think they implemented the wrong strategy.

Solution ?

Of Course you can't just identify the problem without coming up with a solution.

So here is my proposal:

Tourism

Instead of showing everyone how awful (some parts of ) Africa can be they should focus on improving the tourism market in Africa. Africa is a beautiful country. Just take a look at some of the Wonders of Africa.

Africa is one of those places that you need to visit if you ever want to witness the glories of nature. The luxury and quality of African tours are just as good as any other place you will visit. Only difference is Africa combines Luxury with nature.

As you can see this is one of the many places you can visit in Africa. Luxury combined with nature. Eating quality food from African cultures while watching the beauty of a sunset.

Tourism is beneficial for both tourists and Africa as a whole. The tourists experience a land so unique ,so rich in animals and plants and so breathtaking while Africa benefits from the annual income and job creation. More tourists mean more people are needed to fulfill the demand.

Conclusion

Poverty will continue to grow in this continent. Feeding people helps but it doesn't change the fact that they live in poverty. To eliminate this I believe we should take a look at the Tourism industry and try and re-conceptualize the generalized idea that people have of Africa. More people visiting Africa means more possibilities. More possibilities mean growth and growth is always a good thing

If you like my post please follow, resteem and upvote.

Sort:  

Africa is a continent unless you are referring to South Africa which is a country. :)

ahh thanks. Forgot I changed my context in the beginning.

The most spectacular. And people are so friendly. Thanks for posting.

Thank you for taking time to comment . I really appreciate. If you like it please follow me for more. @ikarus64

I didn't see much in the way of poverty when I was in East Africa. There were plenty of poor people, but probably not much poorer than the people back home.

There were plenty of people making a living off the tourist trade thought - selling art and crafts and in one case their sister.

The price was 200 cows. I said I wanted to see her before handing over my cows, but my truck left (thankfully) before he could return with his sister.

in South America is was the same - lots of people doing what they can to earn a living.

As you say, tourism gives them that opportunity.

So if you are looking for an exotic destination I can recommend East Africa (I haven't visited the rest of it yet). Botswana is just awesome. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Yes exactly people think Africa=poverty but it ain't so. Botswana,Namibia and Mozambique is a must visit @trevor.george

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87