My obsession with repurposing and recycling - Part 7

in #life6 years ago

I've always loved creating things from other people's trash.


Not necessarily trash such as milk jugs and packing peanuts, although that has happened - But more like items that people are planning to take to the Goodwill or broken pieces that people are trying to offload in their yard sales for $1. Growing up, my dad and granddad were always into thrifting/picking/bargain hunting, so naturally, I became rather fond of it all and begin doing it on my own as a sort of hobby.

One weekend, during a typical yard sale-ing adventure, I came across a pair of old side tables. The tops were absolutely destroyed and one was even cover in ugly wallpaper....so being the person I am, I had to buy them. Why? well, they were marked $10 for the pair. I offered the lady $5 for both and she countered with $8. That day I happily walked away with two cheap, ugly-ass side tables...I'm looney! Or am I? I'll let you decide, but I must warn you - Your decision may be altered by the time you get to the bottom of this post!

Check it out!






How about that transformation!? You weren't expecting that, were you?



You wanna hear the juicy stats?


Amount invested: ~$15 total

Amount sold for: $150 for the pair



BOOM!

Think this sort of thing is difficult? Think again! All it takes is a bit of time, creativity and elbow grease. Anyone can do this; wouldn't it be nice to have a bit of extra money in your pocket? C'mon, you know you wanna BTFD. ;)






I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments. Also, be sure to watch for my daily Holi-Art post to find out which wacky holidays that you should be celebrating today!

Sort:  

wowwwww! I really did not expect this much. my friend was outstanding.
I wish I could make one from the same. congratulations.
I was really amazed!

I'm glad that you like them, @artizm! :D

Shut the front door! That's awesome! Those are beautiful! Now you've got me looking forward to tackling the girls dresser where before I was just plain dreading it. Although, I am not looking forward to lugging it down stairs, but oh well. Thanks so much for sharing!

Also, while many people might be able to do a project like this, it takes someone with an eye to know what they can create just by looking at a piece like that. You have a talent, my friend!

I really look forward to seeing your finished results! :)

I was going to ask about the homemade chalk paint too. So I am looking forward to that too! This is such a great idea. You are a man of many talents. I have some unfinished projects here that I must get busy working on. Thanks for the motivation.

Get going! :D
Shoot me some pics when you are done!

Beautiful job. You keep talking about homemade chalk paint. How about a post on that someday?

You got it! :D

Very nice. What about the chemicals? I love this kinda stuff!! :)
Joy

Thanks! What chemicals do you mean?

All of the laquer, waxes and cleaners etc. Wood and sanding particles etc. :)
Just asking. :)
Joy

Ooooh, oh. Nothing that I used was toxic, really...Unless Mineral spirits is toxic. haha But yes, always wear a particle mask when sanding!

Wooaaahh!! From 15$ to 150$ not bad bro! You're a God of Recycling! 😎

Hahaha Not quite, but maybe one day! :D

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76