1 Minute Hacks: How to "antique" furniture

in #life6 years ago

Hey guys and gals! Today is the first of a new series of posts that I have decided to create, called 1 Minute Hacks with @rigaronib!

These posts will highlight how-to's, step-by-step procedures and quick fixes for many things in life.



Today's hack?

Furniture Antiquing!


What you will need:

  • Chalk paint in a color of your choice - (mine is homemade)
  • Paintbrush
  • Sandpaper
  • Dark brown shoe polish
  • Old rag for application of shoe polish
  • Mineral spirits 
  • Old rag for use with mineral spirits



Start off by applying two coats of your chosen chalk paint.


I have found that using a lighter color, always makes the antiquing process more fun.



Using your sandpaper, scuff up the areas that you would like to see distressed and aged.


I typically only distress the edges and corners, but you can distress more areas or less, depending on your desired end result!



Now apply the shoe polish all over the piece.


I have learned that by applying the polish to small areas and then wiping it off/rubbing it in before moving to the next spot, I am able to achieve my desired effect.



Once you have applied the shoe polish to the entire piece, rub it down with mineral spirits.


All this achieves is an evening out of the color. Rubbing with differing pressures in different areas produces a more antique and natural feeling "patina".





And there you have it! All it takes is a bit of time, will power, and elbow grease to give your furniture a more trendy and custom look.

Not to mention, it will also sell better when it's time to move on!






I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments. Also, be sure to watch for my daily Holi-Art post to find out which wacky holidays that you should be celebrating today!

Sort:  

You make it look so easy! And you explain it very well. I have a dresser in the girls room that was given to us when we first moved here. It's a nice design, but someone painted it in multiple coats of black glossy paint. I am not looking forward to sanding all that! But if I ever get around to it, the plan is to antique it in a light turquoise. Any tips in sanding something huge with lots of grooves and details?

That's a difficult task!
The fact that it is black really helps, though. Black makes a nice contrasting color when you rough up the edges! All I would do is rough up the glossy surface with some fine sand paper and then throw the chalk paint right on top - since chalk paint is gritty, it usually adheres very well to most surfaces.

If you want to remove the black completely, the easiest/quickest route would be to use paint stripper...but that stuff can be nasty. It burns when it hits your skin (vinegar and soapy water helps to counteract it), so wear long sleeves! Haha

heeey, perfect.
I like to do things like that. I work especially with real trees. Now is the perfect way to evaluate the furniture we are bored of. congratulations. great narration. I plan to do the same thing in an old chair soon!
:D

Really? I would love to see some of your work!
Be sure to share a pic of the chair when you finish it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81