You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New York Sues Big Pharma 'To Make Them Pay' for Deliberately Fueling Opioid Epidemic

in #life6 years ago

Great article it is interesting to hear that states are acting out against big pharma companies as this is nothing new and has been happening for awhile. For myself I have been disgusted with the health system I have been apart of my whole life and how easy it is to get certain prescriptions and other drugs. The issue that got me started on this path was how easy it is for children to be hooked on adderall or given prescriptions of the drug. I personally tried this as a study aid as I heard from fellow classmates while I was in school and after feeling the affects I read more into what it actually was and was shocked and disgusted with the results. It shocks me that parents and doctors can prescribe these drugs to children who do not need them on the basis that they cannot focus for defined periods of time. If it was around when I was growing up, I know for certain I would be characterized on the list as being unable to focus for extended periods of time, but what normal child can? I am happy to see action finally being taken against the big pharmaceutical companies and hope they get punished accordingly for their role in our current societal problems.

Sort:  

As someone who has worked in the field of education I can say first hand that I have seen schools recommend drugs for children who are under 5 years old. It is a disgusting practice. We are sold the lie that the school system is properly formatted and any child who does not conform to it must have something wrong with them; give them drugs and make them conform. In reality we are subjecting children to a crazy system. It is biologically appropriate for a child not to sit still for eight hours daily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63