You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @maninayton Describes His Desent Into Depression and Holds Out A Helping Hand To Fellow Sufferers - Part 1 of 2

in #life7 years ago

My problem is with how depression is treated medically. It's called a chemical imbalance, but nobody knows what chemicals are out of balance and there's no definitive test...So to increase revenues for Big Pharma, they guess (It's the really expensive chemicals that are out of balance, it turns out). I think a good counselor, or therapist, if you can find one (most are on the payroll of Big Pharma). My advice is to find someone you trust and talk it out with them. I fought Vietnam for 25 years after I came back... it was after I opened up and talked about it that I overcame alcohol and drugs. I wish you the very best my friend... I'm here!

Sort:  

Thanks for the thought @richq11. I fully agree with your comments about Big Pharma and how they manipulate the medicine market but I do think in my case at least the medication I'm on has been a life saver. I did try to come off them at one point but crashed again so I believe I do need that extra dose of Serotonin to function properly. We are cushioned over medical expenses over here in the UK due to the NHS so the cost of drugs and the rip off of Big Pharma isn't such an issue in the minds of the public. Perhaps if should be. I'm also very lucky in that I have a great family to whom I can confide things so the talking side is taken care of. I'm pleased to see you have conquered your demons. Despite serving in the army I count myself lucky not to see any action so I can only imagine what you must have gone through over in Vietnam.

I'm here for you also if you feel the need to talk at any time. My email is in the post if you need it. Until we meet on Steemit again, take care, my friend :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37