Dollar Store Life Lessons

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This morning I went to the neighborhood dollar store to get a few items before a short trip tomorrow. When I collected everything and went to the register, the clerk wasn’t there. A hand bell sat on the counter.

An older gentleman had gotten there before me with a couple bags of chips. He scowled and smacked the bell. In the aisle behind me, I saw the clerk immediately drop the stock she was shelving and make her way toward the counter. The man scowled again and proceeded to smack the bell several times in succession. I could tell by the look on the clerk’s face that she had reached her limit.

At the register, she moved the bell and placed it behind her on a shelf. She said nothing untoward and proceeded to ring up the man’s items. He tossed a wad of bills at her, wearing a dark expression. She remained professional and gave him correct change, after which he jerked the bags off the carousel and stomped toward the door.

I couldn’t stop myself. Really. I almost tried, but didn’t find restraint worth the effort.

“Life’s too short to be that grumpy,” I said with enough volume for him to hear.

He paused at the door, turned, but said nothing. Out he went, everything horrible about life written all over his craggy face.

I shared some sympathetic words with the cashier. Turns out, she was battling an earache and was in significant pain. Still, she had performed all her duties well, including the act of stocking items when no one was at the register. That’s expected of dollar store employees. She wasn’t lax for not being at the register. She was doing her job.

I nursed irritation at the grouchy man until I got into my car to leave. Then it hit me—there’s really no telling what personal battles he faced himself this morning. Certainly life hasn’t treated him the way he’d hoped. I was glad, then, that I hadn’t elaborated on my “life’s too short” remark. I hope it made him think, but I also hope it didn’t cause more damage. We just never know what people are going through.

This brings me to a conclusion that I think is worthy of sharing here. We live in a reactive society. Tempers flare easily and offense is taken when sometimes none is intended. What kind of world would we live in if we were slower to anger, more tolerant of simple human failings and less likely to assign sinister motives? What’s that saying? Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. Sometimes a bad decision is just a bad decision. I think we do ourselves a disservice by the speed with which we jump to conclusions about people based on a few seconds of ignoble behavior.

I’m not crazy about some of the things I see happening on the blockchain right now. I think some malevolent people definitely operate here, with destructive agendas and sociopathic tendencies. But I think a lot of other people are just doing the best they can. I would love to see us being a little slower to react and more tolerant of human imperfections. We all get it wrong sometimes. I would never defend what the man at the register did this morning. But I’m not sure my response is worth defending, either. I’m just glad I managed to send some positive energy in the clerk’s direction. I hope her day ends a lot better than it started.

Witness banner.jpg

img src "dutchpirates" https://pixabay.com/en/users/dutchpirates-858383/

Sort:  

Hello @rhondak! This vote comes from the @dolphincocoon by way of @sykochica! Love, @poeticsnake and @thebugiq

Love you guys! <3 !

Dollar store escapades are always interesting. Can find some interesting party favors :P

colbert.gif

This is so, so true. A proverb that comes to mind, since people are doing proverbs...

To err is human, to forgive is divine.

Have a great day, every day! Blessings and groovy vibes are my wishes for you and yours.

Sarge (Sargento) @sgt-dan

Marine_divider.png

The world is a crazy place right now. Just look at today’s news if you need proof. I always feel bad for the clerks that work tirelessly to keep those little stores running. “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get”. Forrest Gump 🐓🐓

SO goes the saying... "you don't know what someone is dealing with until you walk a mile in their shoes"

I am normally a very even tempered, go-with-the-flow kind of person; not to say there aren't days when I am holding back and ready to blow.
But like you... I tend to think about things and people's behaviors as what happened in their life to make them react this way.

thanks a lot for sharing such interesting post with us..
nice post..
@resteem has done to present you

There is a proverb in Africa which said that,all lizard are walking with their tommy on the the floor but we don't really know the one who's suffering from tommy ache,which means not all that are alive are actually living .

You're such a sweetheart! Unfortunately, most people wouldn't even bother with the man's perspective and would write him off as just a grumpy antagonist. I wish everyone thought like you did <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94