**Ultimate Song Deconstruction** #17 Drake- "Hotline Bling"

in #life7 years ago

Drake is one of the most popular musicians on the planet. He is also from my hometown so I wanted to pay him some homage. Children sang along to this song (not knowing the words of course)

The Original:

Where the music/beat were "borrowed":

Sort:  

Hmmm. Honestly the love for this guy is one of the things that makes me acknowledge my age...because though I realise he's very popular as you say, I must admit that I've never really understood why.

As a lyricist I hear nothing special in his rhymes (like Q-tip, or Nas, or even Lil Wayne). As a vocalist, his voice doesn't stand out (like Guru, or Scarface, or even LL).

He's had some songs with great, great beats...but I don't give him credit for that. At his level you have the top producers in the world working for you; hell, if you don't make hits we should be worried.

Yeah, I just don't get it. I kinda feel like if he's successful then someone like Mack 10 (hah!) should've been a goddamn superstar!

Just my thoughts, of course.

Ikem.

I disagree (as does public opinion). What I do agree with is there is little taste for pure hiphop/rap anymore. In songs like Hotline Bling - Drake transcends rap and offers something everyone can listen to. I think people forget what his actual rap voice is like. Is his voice as unique as Biggie, LL, ODB, Busta or Tupac? I dont think so - but when they were at the top of their game I didnt know how good they were either!

Im not sure if history will remember him in a big way or not. I can certainly hear his "voice" - but as I wrote in a seperate post - as a guy from Toronto its hard to admit - but I kinda think Meek Mill and Drake sound the same!

Thanks for the reply - im going to go listen to Scarface now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40