You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trying to figure out who I want to be, and how to work this new year.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I know the 'spreading myself too thin' feeling well. With full time (teaching) job, my main WP blog (which has been 2 years in the making and is actually earning enough to allow me to quit work this year) and now trying to expand my more personal and eclectic stuff onto this platform, it's just exhausting.

I know what you mean about 'crafting a post', but you can only really do that a few times a week at most if you want to write a good 500-1500 word item. (I always think it's funny how the 'essay' is actually the most relevant form on blogs, I never thought that old school-time thing would actually be useful).

The pressure to post daily is enormous. I use a strategy where I do mainly 'quick blog posts' (in the news comments/ exploring a concept/ look at this infographic) with longer form once a week at least.

As to videos - that's something I really want to get into, but I just can't atm, I know my limits, I could imagine it'd be a killer, besides I have to perform for four hours a day in the classroom anyway.

At the end of the day I've come to the conclusion that less is more - better to post one quality post once a week, and maybe one quick post (I think that's allowed) rather than a stream of mediocrity, although I fall into that trap too easily.

As to Facebook and Twitter - I just see them as marketing tools to drive people to my blog (and maybe here if/ once I get it going properly), although I do have a soft spot for the later.

This platform, if you blinker yourself to all the shite, is actually quite a nice blend of blog and interactivity.

Anyway, bit long that, Laphroaig then bed for me. Night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61