Saving Money on Gas for Your Vehicles

in #life3 years ago (edited)

Updated: 6/5/22.

Would you like to save money on gas for your vehicle(s)? Does anywhere from $.02-$.50/gallon sound good? I have some suggestions for you. Best of all, you can combine them for even greater savings!
free gas image

  1. Join your gas station company's membership program
  2. Whether it's Circle K, United Dairy Farmers, Kroger, Sam's Club, Meijer, Shell, or another company, most of them have a loyalty program that will save a bit of money per gallon. Many of them will increase that amount after you've shopped at their store. I've gotten up to $.20/gal. off my gas purchase because of loyalty programs alone! Not all of these companies partner with all of the other suggestions.

  3. Drive on the inside curve

  4. Yes, this simple trick will cut down on the miles you drive because the inside curve of a lane is always shorter than the outside curve. Just don't cross the line! ;) An added benefit is that you'll find it easier to catch up to a vehicle you want to pass. For even more savings, switch lanes to be closer to the inside curve, but be careful!

  5. Don't buy gas near a highway or expensive district

  6. This is a no-brainer. More people buy gas near a highway, so the prices are higher there. The same holds true of districts where the rich live - the prices are higher. Prices are lower farther from freeways, and especially in small towns.

    The other day (7/6/21), I had to get gas. I got it at a chain with a list price of $2.94. I saw the same gas station close to the highway and the price was $3.15.

  7. Don't buy the cheap brands

  8. Some brands may be famous for their low prices, but that doesn't make them the best buy. Low prices are usually because they buy from the bottom of the gas tanker, which is where most impurities in the gas settle to, so the gas is dirtier. This means that not only will you get fewer miles per gallon, but your engine will get dirty.

  9. Drive 55-65 MPH on highways

  10. Although there may be a small number of vehicles for which the optimal speed is different, most vehicles experience the BEST fuel economy (aka gas mileage) when the speed is between 55 and 65 miles per hour (88.5-104.6 KPH).

  11. Keep your windows up

  12. Having your windows open increases drag, which means that your engine will have to burn more fuel to maintain speed. Using your AC will also decrease gas efficiency, but it probably won't be as bad as fully opened windows unless something is wrong. Having your windows cracked open enough, or using the vents, will use far less gas than either.


    Please note: for some apps, you must allow them to access your location data.
    Also, the apps don't always have the latest gas prices so, on days when the gas prices jump, you may not get the price you expected based on the app's outdated info!

  13. GasBuddy

  14. GB logo
    They work by relying on users to enter the gas prices they see. At the very least, they show (for free) where you can find gas and what the price is; you can do this on their website or app. If you sign up and get the app, it'll show almost all of the gas stations nearby (except non-partnered ones) in a list. In my area, that's most of them. If you want even better, get the GasBuddy pay card and link it to one of your credit union (or, god forbid you're still using a bank) accounts. They also have programs for saving money on other types of purchases (click "savings" in the app to see the long list of deals, which you can run a search on). Do you spend a lot on gas? Buy a $9.99 membership for savings that become about $.25/gal. Their website offers additional tools! They also have a new B2B program.

    On their website, if you search for gas by brand, it shows BP, CITGO, Chevron, Conoco, Exxon, Marathon, Phillips 66, Shell, and Valero, but I've seen other gas station brands listed, including Sunoco. They currently have 14 brands they've partnered with, at least.

    HOW TO USE: If you don't want to join, go to their website and use it to find out where gas stations are, and what their prices are. You can also download the app and use it for the same purpose. Otherwise, sign up and get the app and apply for the card.

    In the app, simply click on "find gas" and it'll give an extensive list of gas stations, which you can sort by price, distance or both. Click on prices to update them. If you click on the station, it'll take you to a new screen which shows info about it. Click on the activate button, and then you'll have 4 hours to use the deal. There's a "Directions" button that will link to your GPS app. You can cancel the offer if you want and select a different station's offer, or you can also click "didn't use my card" if you don't have the GB card. You don't need to photograph a receipt. The difference between the pump price and the price GB is handled automatically so you save right away, and you'll get a notification about it.

    MY EXPERIENCE: When I first started using this app in 2019, I had major problems getting verified in the app and so I didn't use my gas card for a long time. Customer service was abominally slow (months before I got a response, and poor handling). However, I've been using this for over a year with the app and the card and, aside from the very slow customer service (which I rarely need now), and the rare times when I've arrived at a gas station to find out that the last update of the price is no longer valid (which only happens on days when the gas prices jump back up), I'm very pleased. I can consistently save at least a few cents per gallon at just about all gas stations. When I combine this with a gas station deal and/or one of the other apps listed, I can get a really nice discount. For example, on 4/24/21 I was able to use my UDF membership + GasBuddy + GetUpside + Receipt Hog. I estimate that I saved $.03+$.07+1.5 (due to their stacking-discounts penalty) per gallon, plus the minor increase in coins on RH. To put that in real numbers, the gas price was $2.71-$.115=$2.595 x 8.137 gallons=$21.12 for a savings of $.93. At about 1 fill-up per 2.5 weeks, I can save up to $2.5/month, which doesn't justify their $9.99 membership. which gives a savings of $.20-$.40 on up to 50 gallons per month, and $.05 minimum after, plus there are added deals (such as roadside assistance from Allstate and GasBack offers from partners), but this membership is only for passenger vehicles. For people who drive a lot and/or have a fuel inefficient vehicle would benefit. I was able to get larger savings near my workplace 20 minutes from home than I ever could in my own area - with the largest discount being $.29/gallon once (and that's not including the difference in prices between there and here)! Please note that either UDF or GasBuddy made a change. Previously, you could swipe your UDF card and then the GB card, but that results in the payment being declined. You must now swipe the GB card FIRST.

    An added sometimes bonus is that if you swipe your GasBuddy card through a card swiper that was installed by criminals to steal card numbers and PINs, you're protected. This is because the GB card ONLY works at the pump, so they can't ring up any purchase at all - the card will automatically be deactivated by non-pump purchases. The downside of this is that if the pump's reader isn't working, you can't go inside and use your GB card.

    Other features include keeping track of each of your vehicles, which gives you: info on possible recalls on your vehicle(s) but it's not specific to your vehicle, so you'd need to use Carfax or contact a dealer with your VIN to find out if your vehicle already had the recall repairs done; tracking your trips; tracking your gas mileage and savings; find parking near you; and earn points by entering gas prices, which you can then use to enter the daily lottery to win $100 of free gas (low odds). You can also have it alert you when gas prices are going to go up!

    Premium membership increases your savings $.20-.40/gallon and gives you 24-hour roadside assistance from Allstate.

    WIN GAS MONEY: If you complete tasks (like entering gas prices), you earn credits that you can to enter the raffle. If you win the raffle, you get money for buying gas. Each point you earn gets you one ticket for the raffle (if you play). You can also earn money by referring people.

    NEW MEMBER DEAL: If you sign up before the end of March 2021 and use this code: WHXMFXA, you (and I) will get $5 cash back on your first gas purchase. Of course, you'll have to join, get the app, and get the card, but it's worth it!

    GET IT: Apple Store logoApple Store link Google Play logoGoogle Play link Don't forget the code: EHXMFXC! GB can be used with the following apps, too.

  15. GetUpside

  16. GetUpside logo
    They've been advertising this year on radio. They offer savings on gas, restaurants and groceries, which they show on a map. I haven't tried the latter 2 because there's nothing nearby, but I've just tried the gas program. You only need to sign up and get the app, and you can use any card number that you've entered (partial number only) to pay for the purchase, including GasBuddy's card. All you need to do is to sign up with their app and start using it. I'm not sure how many gas station companies they work with since I haven't seen much variety, which tends to discourage me from looking at it, but my guess is "not many." I guess they have access to company purchase records, because they'll search for the partial number of your card to give you the discounted amount in their app. They offer services for both individuals and businesses.

    GU partners

    HOW TO USE: If you're not using "regular (87)" gas, go into the app's menu, select profile, and choose the gas type you use. From the menu, select "My Wallet" and add a credit/debit card (if it's not already added). Whenever you go to the main app screen, it will show you the map with three participating gas stations/restaurants/grocery stores nearby, the addresses, their regular price, the discount and new price, and they're also listed below the map. If you want more info about the place, click on the listing or the "Info" button. You can click on the place you're interested in for it to appear at the top of the list, and then click "Claim". You'll be instructed to click "Check In" once you reach your destination, and you can use the map's GPS to get there. Upon arrival, click "check in," then choose whichever card you want (you can add new ones whenever you want) in the app, and pump gas. The discount will be registered to your GU account. If the gas prices are wrong, you can go into the gas station's info, click the "Update" button above the prices, and correct them. Sometimes, it may ask you to submit a photo of your receipt instead of checking in.

    You CAN scroll around the map to find deals that are farther away.

    DEAL CAVEATS: If you combine their deal with another deal (not sure which ones apply), GU may decrease your savings from them by $.035/gal. Also, although they promote that you can save $.20-.30/gal, that is the high end and only happens around the time that the gas price jumps back up. The next day, you can expect savings of about $.02-$.05/gal.

    CASHING OUT: When you want to get the money you saved, be patient. Open the menu (triple bar in top left corner), select "Cash Out" (it also shows your balance there), and then select from the list of gift cards (currently, 22 companies), PayPal, your Bank/Credit Union, or mail a check. You'll have to verify your email address, at least, via your phone so make sure you can access your email address on it.

    • If you select PayPal, make sure you've referred a friend OR cash out at least $15, or they'll deduct $1.
    • If you select check, make sure you're getting at least $50, or they'll deduct $1.
    • It doesn't indicate if there's a fee for transferring your balance (via Dwalla), but you have to give your login info.

    MY EXPERIENCE: Customer service response time is a bit slow but acceptable. Resolving issues and getting discounts applied to your account is much slower, however. I've only recently started using this, but it has the same problem as GB with outdated prices, especially on the day gas prices go up. You can update the prices in the app and still get the same discount, but at the higher price. The first time I wanted to use this, I didn't understand about checking in and lost my discount. I wrote to customer service and sent a picture of my receipt, explaining my error, and they wrote it'd take 7-10. 9 days later, I'm still waiting to hear back for the resolution, but I think they did something since the amount in my account seems bigger than the initial $.15 off/gal. that I got already. Update 4/24/21: On one of the 3 dates I used this app, I finally got my discount by showing a copy of my bank statement, but for the first time, they refused to give me the (first-time larger) discount I was supposed to save because:

    1. They couldn't find the transaction in the store records;
    2. the receipt I had was a duplicate because the pump didn't print one and the cashier gave me the wrong receipt; and
    3. my bank statement didn't show the location of the transaction.
      They did give me a conciliatory one-time discount I could apply to my next purchase.
      I just used it for the third time today. This time I was able to submit a photo of the receipt instead of checking in, and now I must wait to receive the discount if they can find the transaction in the store receipts.
    4. In June 2021, I had another incident where they couldn't find my transaction (I'd purchased with the GB card). Fortunately, I had the correct receipt and eventually got my money.
    5. Several problems later, someone actually told me that there's a specific way to enter a "fleet" card (which includes GasBuddy), and it depends on which card you have. They linked me to the instructions and now, MOST of the time, I don't have trouble. I say "most" because I still have had occasional problems when I fill up at Circle K.

    Honestly, I am not really pleased with this app. The problems I've had, the fact that only 3 stations are listed meaning I can rarely benefit from it, and the risk of them not finding the transaction have, thus far, made it less than wonderful, despite the exceptional savings claimed in their advertisements. You CAN scroll around on the map to find other deals, however. Finally, the only time that you can get a major discount seems to be on the day that the gas price jumps back up, at which time you're not really getting a discount - you're getting the price you would've gotten before the price jump, which is something that companies like UDF offer to their members (for free). That this price delay is misrepresented in advertising as being a true discount is disturbing. I am just fed up because it's so hard to find a gas station that offers a good deal through GU, or even a deal that comes close to the marketed $.25 savings.

    REFERRAL DEAL: Sign up with my referral code, GLENN9742, and you'll get $.15/gal off your first purchase ON TOP OF WHATEVER THE OFFER IS! I get a bonus, too. Thanks! You can also use their referral program, and it's a networking system that pays you for your referrals' gas-ups. I honestly don't recommend it.

    GET IT: Apple Store logoApple Store link Google Play logogoogle play link Don't forget the code: GLENN9742!

  17. Gas Buddy vs. Get Upside

  18. I spent 3 weeks tracking the savings from each app in my neighborhood. To be honest, though, I don't usually buy gas in my area because it's cheaper near where I work, which is 20 minutes away. Overall, GB had an average of $.06/gal. from 5 choices while GU's average over the 3 listed was $.04/gal. GB's highest savings (in my area) was $.17/gal, while GU's was $.12/gal. I never saw a discount lower than $.05/gal from GB, but 34.8% of discounts from GU were between $.01-$.04/gal! In addition, while both apps sometimes had outdated prices, there were several days when GU didn't have a price AT ALL for 1-2 of the 3 stations. Finally, the savings I reaped from GB near my workplace, although they sometimes took me out of the way, were far greater than I could've achieved with GU. In the end, it may not look like it, but Gas Buddy was the clear winner from multiple viewpoints.

  19. Receipt Hog

  20.  logo
    This one works on a points system and is not specific to driving, nor will it help you find gas prices and stations; the benefit is to slowly accrue "coins" that can eventually be redeemed. I've used a similar app, Shoparoo, to donate to my kid's school, but they discontinued the app last year :(. There are a few other alternatives to RH (Receipt Pal, Shopkick Receipt Scanner, Fetch Receipt Scanner. Checkout 51, and receipt-free Pogo) that I haven't tried, so if you know about a better one, let me know in the comments below because I'll be happy to find something better than RH! RH accepts gas, restaurant, groceries and other shopping receipts that are less than 2 weeks old (and other limits), which you have to photograph with the app, and give you "coins," "spins" and/or "sweeps" credits.

    HOW TO USE: Open the app, click on either "Receipts" or the camera icon, and take a picture of your receipt. It'll scan it, evaluate it and reward you appropriately. BUT you can only earn the full coin value of receipts up to 100 coins/week. After that, each receipt - no matter how much it's for, earns you 5 coins, and the app divides each month into FOUR weeks.

    CASHING OUT: Go to "Rewards," then "Redeem Prizes". You must have at least 300 coins in your account, complete a survey, verify your device's phone number and your email address before you can use this, you can't actually verify your device until you have ~300 coins. Once you've qualified, however, you can apply your reward to Amazon, Visa or PayPal.

    EARNING MORE:

    • Connect certain accounts, such as Kroger, Amazon, etc., that have digital receipts, they'll accept those and give you a one-time bonus of coins (36 seems to be normal).

    • Refer friends.

    • You can earn by completing surveys.

    • And, of course, referrals get you rewards.

    • Add receipts each week for weekly bonuses.

    • Go up in levels.

    • The nature and amount of your reward is determined by the type of receipt: earning coins, earning spins and earning sweepstake entries.

      WIN: Go to the Slots tab and pull down on the pole. You can win between 2-400 coins. There's also a monthly sweepstakes that you're entered into automatically; the number of entries is determined by eligible receipts.

      MY EXPERIENCE: The photo function is a bit slow but it definitely works. As of this writing, between receipts and spins, I've earned 199 coins in the two weeks I've had it. I can't say much about it, TBH. I put in thousands of dollars worth of receipts and barely got any app coinage. In addition, I found that the app had trouble taking good photos of receipts quickly, and had to be watched closely. It would've taken an excessively long time to realize any real reward, so I ended up getting rid of it.

      REFERRAL DEAL: If you'd like to get RH, please use this code: rer41095. It'll give you a bonus of 5 spins, and I'll get some, too.

      GET IT: Apple Store logoApple Store link Google Play logogoogle play link Don't forget the code: rer41095!

  21. Gas Guru

  22. I've read about it but I haven't used it. I took a peak at it and, although reviews say it's as good as GasBuddy, I didn't think so. You might want to check it out, though, because I could be wrong. It'll give you a list of 3 nearby gas stations (and I think other options), and the prices are based on the official gas price list instead of depending on consumer entries. I wasn't impressed enough to keep it on my phone.

There are other apps out there that you might find (aside from the ones for a specific company). Let me know if you find something worthwhile in the comments!

If you appreciate this article, please 🏅upvote/like👍, 🤩resteem/share and share it to Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, LinkedIn and wherever else you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29