You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discipline, Fearlessness, And Other Lies Sold To You By Clever Marketers

in #life6 years ago

Now - seriously.
I'm gonna give you some feedback as a writer.

your post might be interesting, but it looks terrible. Every single sentence is in a different paragraph. The text doesn't have any structure. That is the reason I stopped reading around the middle.


This is
really hard

to understand

because of how it is structured
in the page.


This example is extreme, but manages to explain why I couldn't force myself to finish reading your article.
Also - it requires a lot of scrolling.
:D

Sort:  

Whoaaaa an actual comment! Thank you.

Yeah, I thought I'd try something different with this post. I've been posting a lot on Instagram and this format works over there because of how the app is set up. Not a good fit for Steemit I guess.

That said, if I'm reading a blog post and I see a paragraph that's more than 4-5 lines, I'm not gonna read it. Maybe I have ADD or something, but if I can't digest that information quickly then I'm going to move on.

I think I may have just overdone it with this post.

Your bot rocks by the way. Thanks.

you are welcome

A trick to I like to use when writing is to imagine myself speaking what I write as a speech. Every dot (.) is an actual stop. Every paragraph end is a pause, in which I catch my breath. I write in a way that you'd be able to pronounce everything written without running out of breathe, or sounding awkward, because of too many pauses. In your case it would have been the later.

One can even experiment with that concept, and play around with commas, and ellipses (triple dot) when trying to imitate some sort of thought process.
...or maybe you shouldn't do that
...I don't know
...but this is how it looks when I do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73