Much To Do About MagicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

As I evolve from writing poetry, to prose, to flash fiction and short stories, it is my longing to take my readers on adventurous journeys, that ignites their emotions and holds their attention from the first word to the last.

I have done a lot of research on one element of storytelling that fascinates me the most, the world of magic. I love magic and I know it will create that special ‘it factor’ for my stories.

As I ponder and explore the world of magic the questions that are before me to answer are:

What type of magic will I use?
• A tool
• A technique
• A potion
• A written language, a song or spoken word
• A gift
• A mechanical device
• A shadowy force of nature, etc.

From my research I’ve found that according to the rules of magic, there is always a cost for using magic.
So I must consider, how will the characters be influenced by magic?
What will be the domino effect as a result of its use? Example: who dies, who disappears, etc. If good magic is used how is dark magic affected?

Also what is my reason for using magic in the story? What problem is the character trying to solve? The writer should always ask the question, is the use of magic necessary and will it be used as only a last resort, or will it be used just because the character has the ability to do so?

From my research I’ve found that magic is a central and key element in a story and it needs to be masterfully applied. With its proper and consistent use it should elevate the story.

What type of magic would you choose for a story you create? What genre would you choose to connect your magic to? Would your magic scorch the earth, take the reader on a fun adventure, or save the world from horrific aliens from space?

And lastly I have been playing around with coining some new genres unique to Steemit and the Crypto World. Let me know if you like any of the following.

  1. Crypto Sci-fantasy
  2. Crypto VentureMystery
  3. Cryptogalactical Opera
  4. Crypto Dark Fantasy
  5. Crypto Thriller

magic
Internet Image

magic
Image by Akeela

magic
Internet Image

Sort:  

So creative. Bravo. Of course if my say means anything I'd choose Crypto Thriller.

Yes!!! That sounds awesome - you have my support! :-) Can't wait! Glad to be a part of all this exciting inspiration here on Steemit! :-)

Congratulations @rensoul17! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome... Following u ma'am

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81