Keeping And Raising Chickens (Step 1)

in #life7 years ago

So, it has come to my attention that this site is mainly for bloggers and not necessarily for a replacement for facebook,twitter,etc... like I had originally thought. That being said, this is my first attempt at actually blogging about something. They say you should blog about something that interests you and/or something you know well. For the past few years, one of the things I have done has been raise chickens and so I thought that this would be as good a thing to blog about as anything so here it goes.
blrwtrio copy.jpgblrwthree copy.jpg

Now the first step to keeping and raising chickens is deciding whether or not you want them in the first place. I can't make that decision for you of course but i can tell you some things to consider. Below I will list a few pros and cons for you to consider.

Cons:

  1. Everything in nature wants to eat your chickens!
  2. They can be noisy at times.
  3. You will have to spend some time cleaning up after them. ( Although this can be minimal.)
  4. They can tear up your yard if you do not plan ahead.
  5. Can be an extra expense for feed.
  6. Everything in nature wants to eat your chickens! lol

Pros:

  1. Fresh eggs!
  2. Natural pest control for most insects. (Especially ticks, and mosquitoes..)
  3. Help clear land you want cleared.
  4. Very enjoyable to watch.
  5. Fresh meat.

Above are some things to consider when deciding if you want to keep and raise chickens. My next blog will be about the next step you will take if you decide you want to try your hand at raising chickens. Be blessed...
babychicksb.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post! My sister had chickens for a while, and some other types of birds that walked the yard and ate things. It was nice! :)

Nice! I love your blogging idea! We've had chickens for the past 7 years. You're right. Everything in nature want to eat the chickens. And so, we started with 6 went down to 4, up again to 5, went down to 1 and got one more to keep company to the one who was left while we are deciding if we'll get more.

Raccoons, dogs, eagles, and otters were amongst those who had a chicken for lunch or dinner since we first acquired them! I love having them but I get attached to them and each time one disappears, I feel it. Too sentimental? Probably.

That said, I love your post. Keep on blogging. You're good at it!

I just had to say thank you very much to this post!

This is a really cool topic! I have no homesteading tendencies, but I do admire from afar :) The chicks are cute!

Thank you very much for your reply. I could use all the help on this I can get.

interesting.

My grandmother has chickens, though the male... was a bit too aggressive.

After it tried to attack her 5 times, it has now sadly been put on cold for dinner someday XS

Someday, If I get myself a house or an apartment with a nice big garden, I'll look into chickens. I think they're beneficial to have around, and eggs are pretty good :)

Congratulations @reduen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38