You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cost of Honesty

in #life6 years ago

A person can be honest and true to their thoughts and feelings without having to blatantly share that truth with others. For example, if I see a stranger in an unflattering outfit, I don’t need to tell them they look terrible. I’m not being dishonest if I choose to keep that information to myself. But if they were to ask me what I thought about their fashion choice, I might consider giving an honest (but tactful) response.

We need to keep in mind that when we give someone our honest opinion about something, it’s still just our opinion. In many cases, we can choose to be an honest person while still keeping our opinions to ourselves.

Sort:  

Thank you for your another perspective @redhens 😊 I agree about the tactful response, something that I need to learn to do better.

And it is also so cool you point "we can choose to be an honest person while still keeping our opinions to ourselves". I feel very committed to be an honest person, but in some occasion I reserve a part of my truth to myself, and I have a tone of those moments accumulated in some part of my consciousness still wondering itself "are we right or we are total muck?". In a way I feel like I can give an answer to them, like "no, it's ok sharing only the necessary". So, cool. Thanks. Greetings, @redhens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98