We Have Babies

in #life7 years ago

Little Baby Zebra Finch Chicks

My Zebra Finches don't mind that I moved their nest or touch their babies. I didn't touch their eggs though! It takes about 14 days to incubate eggs and I left the babies alone for their first week. Finches grow and mature very fast. In 21 days the chicks will leave the nest and I will give these babies away. I hadn't planned on having baby chicks. I had no idea Zebra Finches were so prolific!

I wanted to know exactly how many babies they had and what shape their were in and happily everyone is healthy. Finches lay from 4 to 8 eggs and can start laying another clutch as soon as the babies leave the nest.

I purchased 2 Zebra Finches to keep our one winged Mourning Dove company. I purchased a wicker cage because I read the finches love to snuggle in groups. I had no clue the 2 would start courting, mating, and nesting so soon. I read that when birds start nesting that means they are happy.

Baby Finches are very ugly. You can see their craws or crops are stuffed full with boiled chicken egg. I read that finches parents and babies need good protein, some veggies/fruit, and seeds to give their babies a proper diet. The finches ignore my chopped veggies and fruit and prefer eggs and seeds for their baby food. I also have a lot of grit, little rocks and crushed eggshells to help the adult birds digest their food. Birds use gravel to grind up their food since they don't have teeth.

You can see PG our crippled Mourning Dove and the orange cheeked Male Zebra Finch. Zebra Finches are non aggressive happy little birds that get along fine with bigger non aggressive birds like Mourning Doves. Most of the time it is important not to mix bird species and sizes but this situation worked out great. Lots of people keep their injured Mourning Dove with Zebra Finches. I was surprised that the mated pair didn't start attacking PG once they laid their eggs. I can happily say they all seem to be happy together.

Most pet stores have woven wicker nests. Cages outside the cage don't take up so much room but I have a large cage. Also nesting boxes are easier to clean.

Photography Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Cool looking pets, but like you said I can barely understand the chicks.
Thanks for sharing.

wow, you also have chicken and birds, thats makes you little busy in daily life.

they are so cute.; congrats you have new babies. they gonna make a lot of noisy in your house. but that is soemthing will bring happiness in your house. you are right large cage is good for birds. it will be always clean and comfortable for them. try to put babies in warm place and away from cats. if cat scary them. bird babies can die hust from fear. glad to see you again. sorry i have been very busy lately.

@khaled-dz, their cage is large and high up so our cat won't scare them, that is good advice. We have a ceramic bulb that is used to keep reptile cages warm. They also make great heaters for caged birds that need to stay warmer than our 68 degree house in the winter time here in Oklahoma.

You are cool @khaled-dz, I am happy to see you every day or once a year, I am that kind of person. (hugs)

I have modest experience in raising birds. I like to learn everything in this life. its good to be knoowledgable abouou to learn everything lol. so being here on steemit allow me tmeet nice people like you to learn from them. yeah its good advice because we lose some bird babies because of a cat. we are here to help each other. so am happy you fele our support.

Sweet little babby - good night @reddust

Rest well my friend @dobartim!

Wow they are very cute. Congratulations and have a nice weekend :)

Thank you kindly @hanen!

I've had Zebra Finches. They really are happy, non-aggressive little birds arent' they. I can't remember if I had any problems with them regarding breeding, but I hope they aren't like the Canary pair I had who basically bred themselves to death. They nested in everything and anything that was remotely nest-like. I'd take a box out, they'd use the feed dish... It was frustrating.

Anyway, I hope you have success in finding the babies new homes when the time comes. :)

@reddust, congrats on the new additions to your home!

I am sure they will love being with you for the next 21 days

I hope someone takes my Zebra Finch Babies lololol....The way these little birds breed they would breed themselves out of their cages. Thank you @sumatranate

Is there any type of demand for finches? You could be the supplier of the next big thing in Oklahoma.

Nooooo hahahaha, I have too much to do!

Then you should probably give away momma and daddy too.

Because as you mentioned before, they are prolific. :) They sound like the rabbit version of the bird family

I don't want to give away Mom and Dad, so I will have to hit up the pet stores and see if they want some babies from me. I know, your advice is perfectly logical....I have their pedigree as well so the pet stores know which breeding ranch they come from.

Maybe I can rig up a chastity belt for birds, if it works I can start selling them .... hahaha j/k...

I would definitely support a post about a chastity belt for birds! Too funny.

It wouldn't work, birds only have one hole, the vent... to poop, mate, and lay eggs. lololol

My husband said, just remove the eggs...we can make omelettes instead ..... he is so smart hahaha

Baby raptors.
:D

Don't they look like little dinosaurs without their feathers? Boy oh boy, ugly babies....the finches are really good parents.

Atleast the next faze is the fluffly ball of down. thats always cute. pin feather stage is kinda grose looking too. lol
Im not use to seeing birds raise their young as all im use to dealing with are parrots and they usually are hand raised by people.
Would be neat to watch the parent raise them. Watching the push the babies out of the nest faze might be cray.
:D

Yeah getting the babies out of the nest will be interesting to watch. I will have to find a home for them as soon as they develop their adult feathers. Finches are territorial and their species can't handle breeding close to the line, no incest allowed!

One of our birds has been laying eggs like crazzy the last month but because they are steral eggs we just remove them as quick as we see them.
You shouldnt have a problem finding a home for the babies, fintches are on the quiet side and a great biginner pet.
With anything i say no incest aloud!
lol

A mourning dove in your house! Cool. I attract them to our backyard deck with bird seeds; lovely and docile creatures.

wow so good to know that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50