You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving to paradise. From creating QuickPay for Quicken to living on a sailboat in the Caribbean - Part 1

in #life8 years ago

The thing that surprised me most was... piracy on Atari? I'm probably to young to grasp it, but how do you pirate game cartridges sufficiently to crash a market without the Internet as mainstream as it is now?

Also, please do keep us updated on your carribean experience :)

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting. This was the Atari 800 computer which had a floppy drive. We had developed some good ways to protect it but not good enough. When I got married in 1984 my new brother in law was 14 and he had every game of mine pirated. I thought that was funny actually. Back then royalties were 30% which was fantastic but then to try to combat piracy they went to cartridge which was an option but it was very expensive for them and they had me cut my royalties down to like $1. They didn't make it much longer.

Interesting. I was thinking the same thing when I read that part. It is like every console had a hard time fighting it. The Sega Dreamcast used these things called GVDs but someone figured out how to rip the games using the serial port that was on the Dreamcast and then break the games up in these 19mb .rar files and then people were downloading them and assembling all the files together to make an .iso and then could burn the game on a CD. I think kids don't really know the value of hard work and it takes years to realize the shock waves that can be created by doing this. That is my personal opinion and a comment war will likely start right about NOW! Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39