Fire, Ice and a Little Je Ne Sais Quoi

in #life6 years ago

2581EA29-8CB4-491D-AFCB-13E5268A5EC1.jpeg

D9B35BFC-020B-4123-A654-A6EEE1B59EFA.gif

Yeah, it’s a thing in Canada, in the winter months.

Fire and Ice

Stand a little bit closer and you’ll be able to imagine warming your hands...(wink, wink.)

DA872DE7-8ED8-4A48-BE4C-0FFBC9A7D5AA.jpeg

99A07735-F902-4FE2-9D64-6AD521FF80B1.gif

The smell of the burning wood is smoky and sweet.

A winter bonfire’s aroma seems to linger a little longer in the frigid air, than a summer bonfire’s does.

A winter bonfire is a different experience altogether.

Generally people consume cold beverages around a summer bonfire and if you’re drinking around a winter one, you’re likely to be handed a piping hot mug of Canadian champagne.

Canadian champagne is made by mixing whiskey and hard apple cider together and then heating it. The beverage is served hot and often, whole stick of cinnamon are simmered with the brew for some additional spicy heat.

It warms a person from the inside out.

CB7D76D8-A51A-43B1-887F-0C88D7DD9191.jpeg

The carving (in the photo above) is in wood. It depicts a French Canadian man (or early French Canadian pioneer). He’s carrying an axe over his shoulder.

He isn’t wearing winter dress, so it seems odd to see the carving standing in the snow.

In the winter, this man would’ve worn lots of furs over top of what he has been depicted as wearing.

Felling trees and trapping beavers (for their fur) was how this man would have spent his life.

Ultimately these men worked for the country of France and her shipping companies. The resources that they harvested were sent back to Europe. It was a hard life. Many perished but some survived.

The ones who did, settled and put down roots in a new land, which would later become the country of Canada.

Many of the early European pioneers had children with Indigenous women who already called this land, their home.

It is this lineage that created our Métis population and it’s one of the reasons why 1 in 4 Canadians are recognized today, as being indigenous.

The winters are always long in Canada, it seems.

B5EE5833-6DBA-4B6D-A009-60A31A8405A9.jpeg

The snow is deep. When the snow and ice thaw through the course of a day (as the sun warms it) long spears of ice form and we call those formations: icicles.

You can see a small cluster of icicles just to the left of the window in the photo (above).

Icicles can become massive and if they aren’t managed, can be very destructive.

If a long heavy icicle breaks free from a roof’s eavestrough, it can impale and smash anything that it hits on its plummet to the ground.

Ice, just like fire can be equally as destructive and equally as beautiful.

5DAD4DA2-E908-48E8-8D2F-FF2325997AC9.jpeg

In the photo (above) you can see a small block of lit ice.

It has multiple silhouettes of penguins carved and painted in different colours on it.

Lighting ice art definitely changes the viewing experience and it’s even more magical to view at night.

Ice sculptures and art made out of ice are temporary marvels for the eye.
You must take the time to appreciate them upon immediate discovery because they’re only meant to last at their peak (aesthetically) for a few days.

May you be able to take the time to enjoy art and different cultures as you discover them.

Life is all about the experience.

580626E4-3770-41C2-9F05-1FB8DA35DA49.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

I can feel the warmth and the smell of the firewood burning. What a lovely way to spend and evening.

Oh I am so glad you enjoyed the fire, @sunscape!

Just happened to be in the right place at one of the best times, to catch the fire and the ice playing together. ;)

Hi - I was reading a post you wrote a few years ago about using cannabis root for tea - just wondering how that turned out, and do you have any more information on using the root? thanks.

Hi @in2itiveart!
Thanks for asking such a great question. ;)
At the time that I wrote that post, I had my medical license to use cannabis legally in my country but I didn’t have my growing license (yet) and wasn’t growing my own plants.
The leaves that I used and the root were given to me by another grower. The plant was grown outside and I had little knowledge of what the soil conditions were or what the grower used to feed the plant.
Cannabis is a bio-filter. It will clean contaminated soil.
As such, hemp has been growing in Chernobyl and has been used to remove radioactive waste and heavy metals.
http://rediscoverhemp.com/hemp-eats-chernobyl-waste-offers-hope-for-hanford/
I prescribe to using the whole plant but would only do so if I knew exactly what the plant was exposed to.
I dried the leaves and the root, but really only used the leaves to make tea because I was concerned about what the plant had stored in its roots. ?
I ended up composting the roots but I have to say it was a good exercise in learning about cannabis and hemp plant biology.At the end of the day, I am still cautious about using the roots for anything that I am going to consume. ;)

i know exactly where the plants are grown and it's all good organic soil. I am getting ready to make some tinctures and teas and salves using the root. I personally am allergic to thc but now know there is no thc in the roots so am looking forward to using them as a preventative in this polluted world we live in - I live in colorado - so fortunately - it's all on the up-and-up...

Very good! I typically blend the leaves with other dried flowers and herbs when I make tea or lineaments in order to take advantage of synergies that exist. On the tea side: chamomile, mango, basil. On the lineament side: comfrey, calendula and St. John’s Wort.
It only makes sense to use as much of the plant as we can...they produce so much material. Best of luck to you. ;)

Amazing winter photography.
I love those bonfires in winter time.
So much fun.

Thank you @joalvarez! I agree. Winter bonfires are fun and we definitely don’t celebrate them enough.
One major benefit: no bugs. ;)

You had me at champagne....

Hahaha! How could I talk about all good things French without talking about our Canadian bastardization of champagne. Nothing is sacred and it would be fitting to swear: sacré bleu just to set the neck colour, proper on this. Totally redneck. ;D

PS. Tracked down a 16 mm projector and this is what we bought:

The version we have is in black and white and this is a colour version, but they are the same.

A promo piece that Paul and Linda produced together in 1970.

Would’ve been the pre-cursor to music videos. The quality of Paul’s voice, at that age is chilling. It was worth buying it, just to hear it.
Very cool. I hope you enjoy Maybe I’m Amazed as much as we did. ;)

Personally, I would take the whiskey/cider version over true champagne any day!...add in a a cinny stick and man, you just knocked my socks off lmao.

I love the video...my very favorite era of music. I think you got a gem there <3

I’ll remember this @tamaralovelace and be sure to make this drink for you...might be a little warm for your climate but still worth the experience.
We feel the same...it’s a gem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65